We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The storm: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Published:
New York : Atria Books, 2018.
Physical Desc:
306 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Carmichael
FICTION Anwar, A.
Central
FICTION Anwar, A.
Description

"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Carmichael
FICTION Anwar, A.
On Shelf
Central
FICTION Anwar, A.
On Shelf
Sacramento Public Library Storage
FICTION Anwar, A.
Due Jun 9, 2024
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501174506, 9781501174513

Notes

Description
"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Anwar, A. (2018). The storm: a novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York, Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Anwar, Arif. 2018. The Storm: A Novel. New York, Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Anwar, Arif, The Storm: A Novel. New York, Atria Books, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Anwar, Arif. The Storm: A Novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York, Atria Books, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c92b6692-a2f6-83cd-b5fe-db2e2c6f1a85
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMay 19, 2024 07:52:48 AM
Last File Modification TimeMay 19, 2024 07:53:00 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 25, 2024 02:14:20 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02777cam 2200433 i 4500
001  2018016384
003DLC
00520180512053301.0
008180410s2018    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2018016384
020 |a 9781501174506
020 |a 9781501174513
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d GCmBT|d NjBwBT
042 |a pcc
043 |a a-bg---|a n-us---
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR9199.4.A588|b S86 2018
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a Anwar, Arif,|e author.
24514|a The storm :|b a novel /|c Arif Anwar.
250 |a First Atria Books hardcover edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Atria Books,|c 2018.
300 |a 306 pages ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Families|z Bangladesh|v Fiction.
650 0|a Immigrants|z United States|v Fiction.
651 0|a Bangladesh|x Social conditions|v Fiction.
655 7|a Domestic fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 gsafd
907 |a .b25510964
932 |a FICTION Anwar, A.
945 |y .i78377845|i 33029105683965|l hotag|s -|k 06-09-24|u 16|x 1|w 1|v 9|t 0|z 06-04-18|o -
945 |y .i78377857|i 33029105683973|l carag|s -|k |u 5|x 1|w 0|v 3|t 0|z 06-04-18|o -
945 |y .i78377869|i 33029105683981|l cenag|s -|k |u 5|x 0|w 0|v 0|t 0|z 06-04-18|o -
945 |y .i78377870|i 33029105683999|l cooag|s i|k |u 9|x 0|w 0|v 7|t 0|z 06-04-18|o -
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a car|a cen|a coo|a hot