We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The storm: a novel

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for The storm

Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
2018
Language:
English

Description

"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9781501174506
9781508257585
9781501174513

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc92b6692-a2f6-83cd-b5fe-db2e2c6f1a85
Grouping Titlestorm
Grouping Authorarif anwar
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-20 03:13:49AM
Last Indexed2024-06-20 03:34:26AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Adam, Vikas
Nankani, Soneela
author
Anwar, Arif
author2-role
Adam, Vikas,reader
Nankani, Soneela,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Anwar, Arif
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
display_description
"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
c92b6692-a2f6-83cd-b5fe-db2e2c6f1a85
isbn
9781501174506
9781501174513
9781508257585
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-06-20T10:34:26.480Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Anwar, A.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn
9781501174506
publishDate
2018
publisher
Atria Books
Simon & Schuster Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Bangladesh -- Social conditions -- Fiction
Domestic fiction
Families -- Bangladesh -- Fiction
Families -- Fiction
Fiction
Heritage -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Immigrants -- United States -- Fiction
Literature -- Fiction
title_display
The storm : a novel
title_full
The Storm [electronic resource] / Arif Anwar
The storm : a novel / Arif Anwar
title_short
The storm
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Families
Heritage
Immigrants
Literature
Social conditions

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12632357Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12632357?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b25510964.i78377845North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Anwar, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b25510964.i78377857CarmichaelFICTION Anwar, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25510964.i78377869CentralFICTION Anwar, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12632357eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio20181 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 51 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b25510964BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover editionEnglishAtria Books2018306 pages ; 24 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12632357Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25510964.i78377845On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25510964.i78377857On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25510964.i78377869On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011