We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Storm
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 51 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

From an immensely talented new voice in international fiction, a sweeping tour de force that seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781508257585, 1508257582

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Vikas Adam, Soneela Nankani.
Description
From an immensely talented new voice in international fiction, a sweeping tour de force that seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Anwar, A., Adam, V., & Nankani, S. (2018). The Storm. Unabridged. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Anwar, Arif, Vikas, Adam and Soneela, Nankani. 2018. The Storm. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Anwar, Arif, Vikas, Adam and Soneela, Nankani, The Storm. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Anwar, Arif,, et al. The Storm. Unabridged. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c92b6692-a2f6-83cd-b5fe-db2e2c6f1a85
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12632357
titleThe Storm
kindAUDIOBOOK
price3.49
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedOct 21, 2020 12:51:45 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 03:04:50 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 25, 2024 02:14:20 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03149nim a22004815a 4500
001MWT12632357
003MWT
00520231027044141.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008231027o2018    xxunnn eo      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781508257585|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1508257582|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT12632357
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/sas_9781508257585_180.jpeg
037 |a 12632357|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Anwar, Arif,|e author.
24514|a The Storm|h [electronic resource] /|c Arif Anwar.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Simon & Schuster Audio,|c 2018.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 51 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
5111 |a Read by Vikas Adam, Soneela Nankani.
520 |a From an immensely talented new voice in international fiction, a sweeping tour de force that seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Families|v Fiction.
650 0|a Heritage|v Fiction.
650 0|a Literature|v Fiction.
655 7|a Fiction.|2 lcgft
7001 |a Adam, Vikas,|e reader.
7001 |a Nankani, Soneela,|e reader.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12632357?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/sas_9781508257585_180.jpeg