We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Girls in the Stilt House
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Average user rating: 3.1 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Blackstone Publishing, 2021.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 56 min.)) : digital.
Status:

Description

Murder breaks through the racial divide that separates two teenage girls, forging an unlikely friendship in this Southern debut that's perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise. Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her unbearable life on the swamp, and to her harsh father in Mississippi. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

Also in This Series

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781665105644, 166510564X

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Johanna Parker.
Description
Murder breaks through the racial divide that separates two teenage girls, forging an unlikely friendship in this Southern debut that's perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise. Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her unbearable life on the swamp, and to her harsh father in Mississippi. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Mustian, K., & Parker, J. (2021). The Girls in the Stilt House. Unabridged. [United States], Blackstone Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Mustian, Kelly and Johanna, Parker. 2021. The Girls in the Stilt House. [United States], Blackstone Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Mustian, Kelly and Johanna, Parker, The Girls in the Stilt House. [United States], Blackstone Publishing, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Mustian, Kelly, and Johanna Parker. The Girls in the Stilt House. Unabridged. [United States], Blackstone Publishing, 2021.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
5dcf3421-3e28-f015-bb3c-f4e6f57ec985
Go To Grouped Work

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId14614991
titleThe Girls in the Stilt House
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.49
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedApr 01, 2022 12:07:51 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 02:41:50 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 24, 2024 08:40:47 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02876nim a22004695a 4500
001MWT14614991
003MWT
00520231027020114.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008231027o2021    xxunnn eo      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781665105644 |q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 166510564X |q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842 |a MWT14614991
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/bsa_9781665105644_180.jpeg
037 |a 14614991 |b Midwest Tape, LLC |n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest |e rda
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Mustian, Kelly, |e author.
24514 |a The Girls in the Stilt House |h [electronic resource] / |c Kelly Mustian.
250 |a Unabridged.
2641 |a [United States] : |b Blackstone Publishing, |c 2021.
2642 |b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 56 min.)) : |b digital.
336 |a spoken word |b spw |2 rdacontent
337 |a computer |b c |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |b cr |2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital |h digital recording |2 rda
347 |a data file |2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
5111 |a Read by Johanna Parker.
520 |a Murder breaks through the racial divide that separates two teenage girls, forging an unlikely friendship in this Southern debut that's perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise. Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her unbearable life on the swamp, and to her harsh father in Mississippi. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
6500 |a Women |v Fiction.
6517 |a Southern States.
6557 |a Fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Historical fiction. |2 lcgft
7001 |a Parker, Johanna, |e reader.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640 |u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14614991?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435 |z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642 |z Cover image |u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/bsa_9781665105644_180.jpeg