We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Girls in the Stilt House: A Novel
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Average user rating: 3.1 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Published:
Sourcebooks 2021
Status:
Available from OverDrive

Description

THE USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"Remarkable debut.... [a] nearly flawless tale of loss, perseverance and redemption."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

Perfect for readers of Where The Crawdads Sing! Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

Also in This Series

Formats

Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
04/06/2021
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781728217727
ASIN:
B08BW4HY5C

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Kelly Mustian. (2021). The Girls in the Stilt House: A Novel. Sourcebooks.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kelly Mustian. 2021. The Girls in the Stilt House: A Novel. Sourcebooks.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kelly Mustian, The Girls in the Stilt House: A Novel. Sourcebooks, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kelly Mustian. The Girls in the Stilt House: A Novel. Sourcebooks, 2021.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Copy Details

LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection53

There are 2 holds on this title.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
5dcf3421-3e28-f015-bb3c-f4e6f57ec985
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 02, 2021 16:15:27
Date Updated:
Apr 02, 2021 16:15:27
Last Metadata Check:
Jul 23, 2024 10:43:46
Last Metadata Change:
Jul 08, 2024 21:24:03
Last Availability Check:
Jul 23, 2024 10:43:48
Last Availability Change:
Jul 23, 2024 10:43:48
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jul 25, 2024 02:10:21

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0174-1/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0174-1/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0174-1/2B9/77A/B7/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0174-1/2B9/77A/B7/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781728217727
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781728217727
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Kelly Mustian
title
The Girls in the Stilt House
dateAdded
2021-04-02T16:48:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=6006848
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151
sortTitle
Girls in the Stilt House A Novel
crossRefId
6006848
subtitle
A Novel
id
2b977ab7-87c7-4f47-a968-991059ee4c4c
starRating
0

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: TheGirlsintheStiltHo_9781728217727_6006848
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 3112638
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781728217727
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 4/6/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2b977ab7-87c7-4f47-a968-991059ee4c4c&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheGirlsintheStiltHo_6006848
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B08BW4HY5C
      • name: Kindle Book
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 4/6/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2b977ab7-87c7-4f47-a968-991059ee4c4c&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheGirlsintheStiltHo_9781728217727_6006848
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781728217727
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 4/6/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2b977ab7-87c7-4f47-a968-991059ee4c4c&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: family
      • value: relationships
      • value: Historical
      • value: girls
      • value: baton rouge
      • value: runaway
      • value: womens fiction
      • value: Southern fiction
      • value: 1920s
      • value: corruption
      • value: Running away
      • value: bootleggers
      • value: teen girls
      • value: 20th_century_setting
      • value: mustian
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Mustian, Kelly
      • bioText:

        Kelly Mustian is the author of the USA Today bestselling novel The Girls in the Stilt House and the upcoming The River Knows Your Name. She was the recipient of the Mississippi Library Association's 2023 Author Award for Fiction, and The Girls in the Stilt House was shortlisted for the 2023 Crook's Corner Book Prize for best debut novel set in the American South. Her work has appeared in numerous literary journals and commercial magazines. Originally from Natchez, Mississippi, she currently lives in North Carolina.

      • name: Kelly Mustian
imprint
Sourcebooks Landmark
publishDate
2021-04-06T00:00:00-04:00
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Girls in the Stilt House
fullDescription

THE USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"Remarkable debut.... [a] nearly flawless tale of loss, perseverance and redemption."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

Perfect for readers of Where The Crawdads Sing! Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

popularity
5108
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/2b977ab7-87c7-4f47-a968-991059ee4c4c/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
    • shareInLibby:
        • href: https://link.overdrive.com/share?q=QKhbAMShdiw
        • type: text/HTML
id
2b977ab7-87c7-4f47-a968-991059ee4c4c
starRating
4
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0174-1/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0174-1/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0174-1/2B9/77A/B7/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0174-1/2B9/77A/B7/{2B977AB7-87C7-4F47-A968-991059EE4C4C}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDateText
04/06/2021
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9781728217710
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

THE USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"Remarkable debut.... [a] nearly flawless tale of loss, perseverance and redemption."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

Perfect for readers of Where The Crawdads Sing! Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the...

sortTitle
Girls in the Stilt House A Novel
crossRefId
6006848
subtitle
A Novel
publisher
Sourcebooks
bisacCodes
      • code: FIC014000
      • description: FICTION / Historical / General
      • code: FIC044000
      • description: Fiction / Contemporary Women
      • code: FIC074000
      • description: Fiction / Southern