We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Girls in the Stilt House
(eBook)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Average user rating: 3.1 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Sourcebooks Inc, 2021.
Content Description:
1 online resource (384 pages)
Status:

Description

hoopla Book Club Hub - Spotlight Selection! Visit theclub.hoopladigital.com for discussion guide, exclusive author interview, meeting planner, and more. Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder-perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise. Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

Also in This Series

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781728217727, 1728217725

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Description
hoopla Book Club Hub - Spotlight Selection! Visit theclub.hoopladigital.com for discussion guide, exclusive author interview, meeting planner, and more. Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder-perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise. Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Mustian, K. (2021). The Girls in the Stilt House. [United States], Sourcebooks Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Mustian, Kelly. 2021. The Girls in the Stilt House. [United States], Sourcebooks Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Mustian, Kelly, The Girls in the Stilt House. [United States], Sourcebooks Inc, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Mustian, Kelly. The Girls in the Stilt House. [United States], Sourcebooks Inc, 2021.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
5dcf3421-3e28-f015-bb3c-f4e6f57ec985
Go To Grouped Work

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId13932461
titleThe Girls in the Stilt House
kindEBOOK
price1.29
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJul 19, 2022 12:08:18 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 03:23:44 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 24, 2024 08:40:47 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02660nam a22003735a 4500
001MWT13932461
003MWT
00520231027023351.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008231027s2021    xxu    eo     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781728217727 |q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 1728217725 |q (electronic bk.)
02842 |a MWT13932461
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/vsa_9781728217727_180.jpeg
037 |a 13932461 |b Midwest Tape, LLC |n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest |e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Mustian, Kelly, |e author.
24514 |a The Girls in the Stilt House |h [electronic resource] / |c Kelly Mustian.
2641 |a [United States] : |b Sourcebooks Inc, |c 2021.
2642 |b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (384 pages)
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a computer |b c |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |b cr |2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file |2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
520 |a hoopla Book Club Hub - Spotlight Selection! Visit theclub.hoopladigital.com for discussion guide, exclusive author interview, meeting planner, and more. Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder-perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise. Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father. Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
6500 |a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640 |u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13932461?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435 |z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642 |z Cover image |u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/vsa_9781728217727_180.jpeg