We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Pachinko
(CD Audiobook)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Average user rating: 4.2 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(22)
4 star
 
(11)
3 star
 
(5)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(2)
Contributors:
Hiroto, Alison, narrator.
Published:
New York : Hachette Audio, [2017].
Physical Desc:
16 audio discs (18 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Status:
Carmichael
CD FICTION Lee, M.
Central
CD FICTION Lee, M.

Description

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--Provided by publisher.

Also in This Series

Copies

Location
Call Number
Status
Carmichael
CD FICTION Lee, M.
On Shelf
Central
CD FICTION Lee, M.
On Shelf

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
CD Audiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781478967439, 1478967439

Notes

General Note
Compact disc.
Participants/Performers
Read by Allison Hiroto.
Description
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Lee, M. J., & Hiroto, A. (2017). Pachinko. Unabridged. New York, Hachette Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin and Alison, Hiroto. 2017. Pachinko. New York, Hachette Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin and Alison, Hiroto, Pachinko. New York, Hachette Audio, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Lee, Min Jin, and Alison Hiroto. Pachinko. Unabridged. New York, Hachette Audio, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
f63a75e3-828b-6e9b-4fb7-2e89718ab383
Go To Grouped Work

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJun 20, 2024 06:08:28 PM
Last File Modification TimeJun 20, 2024 06:09:11 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 23, 2024 08:24:22 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02117nim 2200433Ii 4500
001sky285566842
003SKY
00520171005000000.0
008170202s2017    nyunnnn        f| n eng d
020 |a 9781478967439
020 |a 1478967439
040 |a OClCo |b eng |e rda |c OClCo
043 |a a-kr---
049 |a JRS
05000 |a PS3612.E346 |b P33 2017
08200 |a 813/.6 |2 23
1001 |a Lee, Min Jin, |e author.
24510 |a Pachinko / |c Min Jin Lee.
250 |a Unabridged.
2641 |a New York : |b Hachette Audio, |c [2017]
300 |a 16 audio discs (18 hr., 30 min.) : |b digital ; |c 4 3/4 in.
336 |a spoken word |b spw |2 rdacontent
337 |a audio |b s |2 rdamedia
338 |a audio disc |b sd |2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital |b optical |2 rda
347 |a audio file |b CD audio |2 rda
500 |a Compact disc.
5110 |a Read by Allison Hiroto.
520 |a "A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--Provided by publisher.
6500 |a Families |z Korea |v Fiction.
6500 |a Koreans |z Japan |v Fiction.
6557 |a Historical fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Domestic fiction. |2 lcgft
7001 |a Hiroto, Alison, |e narrator.
907 |a .b2519222x
932 |f CD |a FICTION Lee, M.
945 |y .i79167871 |i 33029104321682 |l carag |s - |k  |u 31 |x 4 |w 2 |v 15 |t 35 |z 08-16-18 |o -
945 |y .i85628864 |i 33029106220072 |l cenag |s - |k  |u 9 |x 6 |w 0 |v 4 |t 35 |z 09-16-21 |o -
998 |e - |d i  |f eng |a car |a cen