We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The ex: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2016].
Physical Desc:
288 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Arcade
FICTION Burke, A.
Central
FICTION Burke, A.
Colonial Heights
FICTION Burke, A.
Description

"Superb.... Equal measures superlative mystery and crack courtroom thriller reminiscent of the great John Lescroart or the William Diehl classic "Primal Fear." We literally never know what's coming next. . . a wholly satisfying and brilliantly constructed whiz bang of a tale." — Providence Journal

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Arcade
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
Central
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
Colonial Heights
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
Elk Grove
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
McKinley
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
North Highlands-Antelope
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
North Natomas
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
Rancho Cordova
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
South Natomas
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
Sylvan Oaks
FICTION Burke, A.
Due Apr 30, 2024
Valley Hi-North Laguna
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Barber Branch
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
Folsom Adult
FICTION Burke, A.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062390486
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Burke, A. (2016). The ex: a novel. First edition. New York, Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Burke, Alafair. 2016. The Ex: A Novel. New York, Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Burke, Alafair, The Ex: A Novel. New York, Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Burke, Alafair. The Ex: A Novel. First edition. New York, Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c0d3b0a0-3027-0d60-f1f8-3c2e321b8440
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeApr 09, 2024 02:33:18 PM
Last File Modification TimeApr 09, 2024 02:38:50 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 15, 2024 09:08:10 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02139pam 2200469 i 4500
001bl2015052258
00520160119132017.0
008151118s2016    nyu           000 1 eng d
010 |a bl2015052258
020 |a 9780062390486
040 |a NjBwBT|b eng|e rda|c NjBwBT|d GCmBT
049 |a JRSA
05014|a PS3602.U755|b E9 2016
08204|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a Burke, Alafair,|e author.
24514|a The ex :|b a novel /|c Alafair Burke.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|c [2016]
300 |a 288 pages ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
650 0|a Murder|v Fiction.
650 0|a Man-woman relationships|v Fiction.
655 7|a Legal stories.|2 gsafd
907 |a .b23864230
932 |a FICTION Burke, A.
945 |y .i73208322|i 33029070644117|l natag|s -|k |u 17|x 0|w 0|v 10|t 0|z 01-15-16|o -
945 |y .i73265196|i 33029100708924|l cenag|s -|k |u 48|x 3|w 4|v 17|t 0|z 01-26-16|o -
945 |y .i73265214|i 33029100708940|l arcag|s -|k |u 35|x 3|w 2|v 15|t 0|z 01-26-16|o -
945 |y .i73265226|i 33029100708957|l ranag|s -|k |u 32|x 4|w 2|v 19|t 0|z 01-26-16|o -
945 |y .i73265251|i 33029100708981|l nhiag|s -|k |u 38|x 3|w 2|v 22|t 0|z 01-26-16|o -
945 |y .i73265263|i 33029100708999|l valag|s -|k |u 40|x 2|w 2|v 16|t 0|z 01-26-16|o -
945 |y .i73265299|i 33029100709021|l chsag|s -|k |u 19|x 1|w 0|v 31|t 0|z 01-26-16|o -
945 |y .i73285079|i 33029063775241|l elkag|s -|k |u 39|x 4|w 4|v 17|t 0|z 01-28-16|o -
945 |y .i73285080|i 33029063775258|l mckag|s -|k |u 35|x 0|w 0|v 6|t 0|z 01-28-16|o -
945 |y .i73285092|i 33029063775266|l sylag|s -|k 04-30-24|u 21|x 2|w 2|v 12|t 0|z 01-28-16|o -
945 |y .i73285146|i 33029063775316|l nntag|s -|k |u 14|x 3|w 0|v 3|t 0|z 01-28-16|o -
945 |y .i7352167x|i 36796021625778|l fola|s -|k |u 45|x 3|w 0|v 11|t 0|z 03-05-16|o l|a FICTION Burke, A.
945 |y .i75229377|i 31740003198094|l bara|s -|k |u 11|x 0|w 1|v 4|t 0|z 01-14-17|o l|a FICTION Burke, A.
948 |a WDP Featured List 03/16
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a arc|a bar|a cen|a chs|a elk|a fol|a mck|a nat|a nhi|a nnt|a ran|a syl|a val