We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Ex
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : HarperCollins Publishers, 2016.
Content Description:
1 online resource (304 pages)
Status:
Description

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. And look for Alafair Burke's latest heart-racing novel of psychological suspense, The Wife. Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide-and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder-there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him-and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062390509, 0062390503

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Description
In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. And look for Alafair Burke's latest heart-racing novel of psychological suspense, The Wife. Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide-and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder-there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him-and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Burke, A. (2016). The Ex. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Burke, Alafair. 2016. The Ex. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Burke, Alafair, The Ex. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Burke, Alafair. The Ex. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c0d3b0a0-3027-0d60-f1f8-3c2e321b8440
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12348732
titleThe Ex
kindEBOOK
price3.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJul 29, 2023 12:10:04 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 03:24:13 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 22, 2024 02:10:18 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03082nam a22003735a 4500
001MWT12348732
003MWT
00520231027023630.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008231027s2016    xxu    eo     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062390509|q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062390503|q (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT12348732
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062390509_180.jpeg
037 |a 12348732|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Burke, Alafair,|e author.
24514|a The Ex|h [electronic resource] /|c Alafair Burke.
264 1|a [United States] :|b HarperCollins Publishers,|c 2016.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (304 pages)
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
520 |a In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. And look for Alafair Burke's latest heart-racing novel of psychological suspense, The Wife. Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide-and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder-there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him-and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12348732?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062390509_180.jpeg