We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Spending the holidays with people I want to punch in the throat: yuletide yahoos, ho-ho-humblebraggers, and other seasonal scourges
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Published:
New York : Ballantine Books, 2015.
Physical Desc:
xx, 196 pages ; 21 cm.
Status:
Central
818.602 M281 2015
Description

"For fans of Laurie Notaro and Jenny Lawson comes an uproarious and oddly endearing essay collection for anyone trying to survive the holidays in one piece. When it comes to time-honored holiday traditions, Jen Mann pulls no punches In this hilariously irreverent collection of essays, Jen Mann, nationally bestselling author of People I Want to Punch in the Throat, turns her mordant wit on the holidays. On Mann's naughty list: mothers who go way overboard with their Elf on the Shelf, overzealous carolers who can't take a hint, and people who write their Christmas cards in the third person ("Joyce is enjoying Bunko. Yeah, Joyce, we know you wrote this letter."). And on her nice list. well, she's working on that one. Here, no celebration is off-limits. The essays include: You Can Keep Your Cookies, I'm Just Here for the Booze Nice Halloween Costume. Was Skank Sold Out? Why You Won't Be Invited to Our Chinese New Year Party From hosting an ill-fated Chinese New Year party, to receiving horrible gifts from her husband on Mother's Day, to reluctantly telling her son the truth about the Easter Bunny, Mann knows the challenge of navigating the holidays while keeping her sanity intact. And even if she can't get out of attending another Christmas cookie exchange, at least she can try again next year. Advance praise for Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann understands that wanting to be a good person and yearning to punch the deserving in the throat aren't mutually exclusive. At no time is this more evident than during the holidays. Buy this book if you're a fan of not spending the holidays behind bars."--Jen Lancaster, author of I Regret Nothing Praise for People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann says the things we're all too afraid to say. Her honest and hilarious writing style reminds me of David Sedaris and Tina Fey."--Robin O'Bryant, author of Ketchup Is a Vegetable "Comedy gold. Reading her stories is like riding a waterslide: fast, direct and unpredictable."--New York Daily News "Will make you cringe and burst out laughing at the same time."--Karen Alpert, author of I Heart My Little A-Holes"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
818.602 M281 2015
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780345549990, 0345549996

Notes

Description
"For fans of Laurie Notaro and Jenny Lawson comes an uproarious and oddly endearing essay collection for anyone trying to survive the holidays in one piece. When it comes to time-honored holiday traditions, Jen Mann pulls no punches In this hilariously irreverent collection of essays, Jen Mann, nationally bestselling author of People I Want to Punch in the Throat, turns her mordant wit on the holidays. On Mann's naughty list: mothers who go way overboard with their Elf on the Shelf, overzealous carolers who can't take a hint, and people who write their Christmas cards in the third person ("Joyce is enjoying Bunko. Yeah, Joyce, we know you wrote this letter."). And on her nice list. well, she's working on that one. Here, no celebration is off-limits. The essays include: You Can Keep Your Cookies, I'm Just Here for the Booze Nice Halloween Costume. Was Skank Sold Out? Why You Won't Be Invited to Our Chinese New Year Party From hosting an ill-fated Chinese New Year party, to receiving horrible gifts from her husband on Mother's Day, to reluctantly telling her son the truth about the Easter Bunny, Mann knows the challenge of navigating the holidays while keeping her sanity intact. And even if she can't get out of attending another Christmas cookie exchange, at least she can try again next year. Advance praise for Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann understands that wanting to be a good person and yearning to punch the deserving in the throat aren't mutually exclusive. At no time is this more evident than during the holidays. Buy this book if you're a fan of not spending the holidays behind bars."--Jen Lancaster, author of I Regret Nothing Praise for People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann says the things we're all too afraid to say. Her honest and hilarious writing style reminds me of David Sedaris and Tina Fey."--Robin O'Bryant, author of Ketchup Is a Vegetable "Comedy gold. Reading her stories is like riding a waterslide: fast, direct and unpredictable."--New York Daily News "Will make you cringe and burst out laughing at the same time."--Karen Alpert, author of I Heart My Little A-Holes"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Mann, J. (2015). Spending the holidays with people I want to punch in the throat: yuletide yahoos, ho-ho-humblebraggers, and other seasonal scourges. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Mann, Jen. 2015. Spending the Holidays With People I Want to Punch in the Throat: Yuletide Yahoos, Ho-ho-humblebraggers, and Other Seasonal Scourges. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Mann, Jen, Spending the Holidays With People I Want to Punch in the Throat: Yuletide Yahoos, Ho-ho-humblebraggers, and Other Seasonal Scourges. New York: Ballantine Books, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Mann, Jen. Spending the Holidays With People I Want to Punch in the Throat: Yuletide Yahoos, Ho-ho-humblebraggers, and Other Seasonal Scourges. New York: Ballantine Books, 2015. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3eec164b-b7b6-9b23-c911-60507b0ef053
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJun 26, 2022 09:11:57 PM
Last File Modification TimeJun 26, 2022 09:12:22 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 30, 2022 02:08:35 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03243nam 2200337Ii 4500
001sky276149067
003SKY
00520150825000000.0
008150720s2015    nyu           000 0 eng d
010 |a 2015025901
020 |a 9780345549990
020 |a 0345549996
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us---
049 |a JRS
05000|a PN6231.C36|b M36 2014
08200|a 818/.602|2 23
099 |a 818.602 M281 2015
1001 |a Mann, Jen.
24510|a Spending the holidays with people I want to punch in the throat :|b yuletide yahoos, ho-ho-humblebraggers, and other seasonal scourges /|c Jen Mann.
264 1|a New York :|b Ballantine Books,|c 2015.
300 |a xx, 196 pages ;|c 21 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "For fans of Laurie Notaro and Jenny Lawson comes an uproarious and oddly endearing essay collection for anyone trying to survive the holidays in one piece. When it comes to time-honored holiday traditions, Jen Mann pulls no punches In this hilariously irreverent collection of essays, Jen Mann, nationally bestselling author of People I Want to Punch in the Throat, turns her mordant wit on the holidays. On Mann's naughty list: mothers who go way overboard with their Elf on the Shelf, overzealous carolers who can't take a hint, and people who write their Christmas cards in the third person ("Joyce is enjoying Bunko. Yeah, Joyce, we know you wrote this letter."). And on her nice list. well, she's working on that one. Here, no celebration is off-limits. The essays include: You Can Keep Your Cookies, I'm Just Here for the Booze Nice Halloween Costume. Was Skank Sold Out? Why You Won't Be Invited to Our Chinese New Year Party From hosting an ill-fated Chinese New Year party, to receiving horrible gifts from her husband on Mother's Day, to reluctantly telling her son the truth about the Easter Bunny, Mann knows the challenge of navigating the holidays while keeping her sanity intact. And even if she can't get out of attending another Christmas cookie exchange, at least she can try again next year. Advance praise for Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann understands that wanting to be a good person and yearning to punch the deserving in the throat aren't mutually exclusive. At no time is this more evident than during the holidays. Buy this book if you're a fan of not spending the holidays behind bars."--Jen Lancaster, author of I Regret Nothing Praise for People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann says the things we're all too afraid to say. Her honest and hilarious writing style reminds me of David Sedaris and Tina Fey."--Robin O'Bryant, author of Ketchup Is a Vegetable "Comedy gold. Reading her stories is like riding a waterslide: fast, direct and unpredictable."--New York Daily News "Will make you cringe and burst out laughing at the same time."--Karen Alpert, author of I Heart My Little A-Holes"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Christmas|v Humor.
907 |a .b23824797
945 |y .i72660168|i 33029063744684|l cenag|s -|k |u 14|x 1|w 0|v 9|t 3|z 10-02-15|o -
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a cen