We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Spending the holidays with people I want to punch in the throat: yuletide yahoos, ho-ho-humblebraggers, and other seasonal scourges

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of Laurie Notaro and Jenny Lawson comes an uproarious and oddly endearing essay collection for anyone trying to survive the holidays in one piece. When it comes to time-honored holiday traditions, Jen Mann pulls no punches In this hilariously irreverent collection of essays, Jen Mann, nationally bestselling author of People I Want to Punch in the Throat, turns her mordant wit on the holidays. On Mann's naughty list: mothers who go way overboard with their Elf on the Shelf, overzealous carolers who can't take a hint, and people who write their Christmas cards in the third person ("Joyce is enjoying Bunko. Yeah, Joyce, we know you wrote this letter."). And on her nice list. well, she's working on that one. Here, no celebration is off-limits. The essays include: You Can Keep Your Cookies, I'm Just Here for the Booze Nice Halloween Costume. Was Skank Sold Out? Why You Won't Be Invited to Our Chinese New Year Party From hosting an ill-fated Chinese New Year party, to receiving horrible gifts from her husband on Mother's Day, to reluctantly telling her son the truth about the Easter Bunny, Mann knows the challenge of navigating the holidays while keeping her sanity intact. And even if she can't get out of attending another Christmas cookie exchange, at least she can try again next year. Advance praise for Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann understands that wanting to be a good person and yearning to punch the deserving in the throat aren't mutually exclusive. At no time is this more evident than during the holidays. Buy this book if you're a fan of not spending the holidays behind bars."--Jen Lancaster, author of I Regret Nothing Praise for People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann says the things we're all too afraid to say. Her honest and hilarious writing style reminds me of David Sedaris and Tina Fey."--Robin O'Bryant, author of Ketchup Is a Vegetable "Comedy gold. Reading her stories is like riding a waterslide: fast, direct and unpredictable."--New York Daily News "Will make you cringe and burst out laughing at the same time."--Karen Alpert, author of I Heart My Little A-Holes"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780345549990
9780804176293
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3eec164b-b7b6-9b23-c911-60507b0ef053
Grouping Titlespending the holidays with people i want to punch in the throat yuletide yahoos ho ho humblebraggers and other seasonal scourges
Grouping Authorjen mann
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-18 02:08:35AM
Last Indexed2022-08-18 02:45:18AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Mann, Jen
author_display
Mann, Jen
available_at_catalog
Central
detailed_location_catalog
Central
display_description
"For fans of Laurie Notaro and Jenny Lawson comes an uproarious and oddly endearing essay collection for anyone trying to survive the holidays in one piece. When it comes to time-honored holiday traditions, Jen Mann pulls no punches In this hilariously irreverent collection of essays, Jen Mann, nationally bestselling author of People I Want to Punch in the Throat, turns her mordant wit on the holidays. On Mann's naughty list: mothers who go way overboard with their Elf on the Shelf, overzealous carolers who can't take a hint, and people who write their Christmas cards in the third person ("Joyce is enjoying Bunko. Yeah, Joyce, we know you wrote this letter."). And on her nice list. well, she's working on that one. Here, no celebration is off-limits. The essays include: You Can Keep Your Cookies, I'm Just Here for the Booze Nice Halloween Costume. Was Skank Sold Out? Why You Won't Be Invited to Our Chinese New Year Party From hosting an ill-fated Chinese New Year party, to receiving horrible gifts from her husband on Mother's Day, to reluctantly telling her son the truth about the Easter Bunny, Mann knows the challenge of navigating the holidays while keeping her sanity intact. And even if she can't get out of attending another Christmas cookie exchange, at least she can try again next year. Advance praise for Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann understands that wanting to be a good person and yearning to punch the deserving in the throat aren't mutually exclusive. At no time is this more evident than during the holidays. Buy this book if you're a fan of not spending the holidays behind bars."--Jen Lancaster, author of I Regret Nothing Praise for People I Want to Punch in the Throat "Jen Mann says the things we're all too afraid to say. Her honest and hilarious writing style reminds me of David Sedaris and Tina Fey."--Robin O'Bryant, author of Ketchup Is a Vegetable "Comedy gold. Reading her stories is like riding a waterslide: fast, direct and unpredictable."--New York Daily News "Will make you cringe and burst out laughing at the same time."--Karen Alpert, author of I Heart My Little A-Holes"--
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
3eec164b-b7b6-9b23-c911-60507b0ef053
isbn
9780345549990
9780804176293
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-18T09:45:18.657Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Essays
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
818.602 M281 2015
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
primary_isbn
9780345549990
publishDate
2015
publisher
Ballantine Books
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Christmas -- Humor
title_display
Spending the holidays with people I want to punch in the throat : yuletide yahoos, ho-ho-humblebraggers, and other seasonal scourges
title_full
Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat Yuletide Yahoos, Ho-Ho-Humblebraggers, and Other Seasonal Scourges
Spending the holidays with people I want to punch in the throat : yuletide yahoos, ho-ho-humblebraggers, and other seasonal scourges / Jen Mann
title_short
Spending the holidays with people I want to punch in the throat
title_sub
yuletide yahoos, ho-ho-humblebraggers, and other seasonal scourges
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Christmas
Essays
Humor (Nonfiction)
Nonfiction

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:3f66f3cd-f77a-4075-a992-0a2d33fc6373-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b23824797.i72660168Central818.602 M281 20151falsefalseOn Shelfcenag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:3f66f3cd-f77a-4075-a992-0a2d33fc6373eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
ils:.b23824797BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books2015xx, 196 pages ; 21 cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3f66f3cd-f77a-4075-a992-0a2d33fc6373-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23824797.i72660168On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911