We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Emergency Contact
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(8)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 2018
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 12
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 690L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.
Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
03/27/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781534408982
ASIN:
B074ZPDH65
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.1, 12 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
690
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Mary H. K. Choi. (2018). Emergency Contact. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Mary H. K. Choi. 2018. Emergency Contact. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Mary H. K. Choi, Emergency Contact. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Mary H. K. Choi. Emergency Contact. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection31

There are 2 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a3c5ac16-f1a7-185e-3f70-33d671afe592
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 15:43:10
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 15:43:10
Last Metadata Check:
Dec 07, 2021 00:59:18
Last Metadata Change:
Dec 07, 2021 00:59:18
Last Availability Check:
Dec 07, 2021 00:59:21
Last Availability Change:
Dec 06, 2021 06:21:45
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Dec 06, 2021 02:08:40

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Emergency Contact
crossRefId
3441533
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0439-1/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0439-1/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0439-1/AE0/5CE/BF/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0439-1/AE0/5CE/BF/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781534408982
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B074ZPDH65
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781534408982
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Mary H. K. Choi
id
ae05cebf-e808-4c3e-9546-8a6795532d16
title
Emergency Contact
starRating
4.3
dateAdded
2018-03-30T17:54:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=3441533
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: EmergencyContact_9781534408982_3441533
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 2433549
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781534408982
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 03/27/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae05cebf-e808-4c3e-9546-8a6795532d16&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: EmergencyContact_3441533
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B074ZPDH65
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 03/27/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae05cebf-e808-4c3e-9546-8a6795532d16&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: EmergencyContact_9781534408982_3441533
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 2253963
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781534408982
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 03/27/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae05cebf-e808-4c3e-9546-8a6795532d16&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Choi, Mary H. K.
      • bioText: Mary H.K. Choi is the New York Times bestselling author of Emergency Contact, Permanent Record, and Yolk. She is the host of, Hey, Cool Job!, a podcast about jobs and Hey, Cool Life!, a micro-pod about mental health and creativity. Her writing has been featured in The Atlantic, The New York Times,and GQ. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. Follow her on Twitter @ChoitotheWorld.
      • name: Mary H. K. Choi
publishDate
2018-03-27T05:00:00+01:00
ATOS
5.1
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Emergency Contact
fullDescription
"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
2464
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/ae05cebf-e808-4c3e-9546-8a6795532d16/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
ae05cebf-e808-4c3e-9546-8a6795532d16
starRating
4.1
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0439-1/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0439-1/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0439-1/AE0/5CE/BF/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0439-1/AE0/5CE/BF/{AE05CEBF-E808-4C3E-9546-8A6795532D16}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Romance
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDateText
03/27/2018
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as...
sortTitle
Emergency Contact
lexileScore
690
crossRefId
3441533
publisher
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers