We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Emergency Contact
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(8)
4 star
 
(5)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 06 min.)) : digital.
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 12
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 690L
Status:
Description

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory-perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before. For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she'd somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind. Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch-via text-and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781508246053, 150824605X
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.1, 12 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
690

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Joy Osmanski, Jacques Roy.
Description
From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory-perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before. For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she'd somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind. Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch-via text-and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Choi, M. H. K., Osmanski, J., & Roy, J. (2018). Emergency Contact. Unabridged. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Choi, Mary H. K., Joy, Osmanski and Jacques, Roy. 2018. Emergency Contact. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Choi, Mary H. K., Joy, Osmanski and Jacques, Roy, Emergency Contact. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Choi, Mary H. K.,, et al. Emergency Contact. Unabridged. [United States], Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a3c5ac16-f1a7-185e-3f70-33d671afe592
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

Extract Information was matched by id in access url instead of record id.
hooplaId12615190
titleEmergency Contact
kindAUDIOBOOK
price3.49
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedFeb 23, 2024 12:07:35 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeDec 13, 2023 02:42:04 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 21, 2024 02:10:58 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03176nim a22005055a 4500
001MWT16477814
003MWT
00520231205065518.1
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008231205o2018    xxunnn eo      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781508246053|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 150824605X|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT16477814
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/sas_9781508246053_180.jpeg
037 |a 16477814|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Choi, Mary H. K.,|e author.
24510|a Emergency Contact|h [electronic resource] /|c Mary H. K. Choi.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Simon & Schuster Audio,|c 2018.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 06 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
5111 |a Read by Joy Osmanski, Jacques Roy.
520 |a From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory-perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before. For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she'd somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind. Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch-via text-and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Dating (Social customs)|v Fiction.
650 0|a Friendship|v Fiction.
650 0|a Themes|v Fiction.
650 0|a Young adult fiction|v Fiction.
655 7|a Fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Romance fiction.|2 lcgft
7001 |a Osmanski, Joy,|e reader.
7001 |a Roy, Jacques,|e reader.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12615190?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/sas_9781508246053_180.jpeg