Escape from Asylum
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
HarperCollins 2016
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.4 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 740L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

In this terrifying prequel novel to the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, a teen is wrongfully committed to the Brookline psychiatric hospital and must find a way out—before he becomes the next victim of the evil warden's experiments. With the page-turning suspense and unsettling found photographs from real asylums that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum "a strong YA debut," Escape from Asylum is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

The nightmare is just beginning.

Ricky Desmond has been through this all before. If he could just get through to his mother, he could convince her that he doesn't belong at Brookline. From the man who thinks he can fly to the woman who killed her husband, the other patients are nothing like him; all he did was lose his temper just a little bit, just the once. But when Ricky is selected by the sinister Warden Crawford for a very special program—a program that the warden claims will not cure him but perfect him—Ricky realizes that he may not be able to wait for his mom a second longer. With the help of a sympathetic nurse and a fellow patient, Ricky needs to escape now.

Set long before Dan, Abby, and Jordan ever walked the hallways of the Brookline asylum—back when it was still a functioning psych ward and not a dorm—Escape from Asylum is a mind-bending and scary installment in the Asylum series that can stand on its own for new readers or provide missing puzzle pieces for series fans.

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
06/14/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062424440
ASIN:
B015WXQE36
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.4, 10 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
740
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
ce77cd55-7fe0-fa35-737d-0cce72843ef1
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 17:28:19
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 17:28:19
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 13, 2019 13:06:33
Last Metadata Change:
Sep 23, 2019 17:38:45
Last Availability Check:
Oct 13, 2019 13:06:37
Last Availability Change:
Sep 24, 2019 15:27:13
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 16, 2019 01:41:23

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/28C/74D/86/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/28C/74D/86/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062424440
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B015WXQE36
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062424440
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Madeleine Roux
title
Escape from Asylum
dateAdded
2016-06-29T18:05:04.617-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=2405068
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151
sortTitle
Escape from Asylum
crossRefId
2405068
series
Asylum
id
28c74d86-8933-4ea7-a329-824741e196dd
starRating
4.1

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: EscapefromAsylum9780062424440
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 17435010
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062424440
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 37
            • type: Printing
            • value: 37
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 06/14/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=28c74d86-8933-4ea7-a329-824741e196dd&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: EscapefromAsylum9780062424440
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B015WXQE36
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 06/14/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=28c74d86-8933-4ea7-a329-824741e196dd&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: EscapefromAsylum9780062424440
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 16798672
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062424440
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/14/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=28c74d86-8933-4ea7-a329-824741e196dd&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Roux, Madeleine
      • bioText:

        Madeleine Roux is the New York Times bestselling author of the Asylum series, which has sold into eleven countries around the world and whose first book was named a Teen Indie Next List Pick, and the House of Furies series. A graduate of the Beloit College writing program, Madeleine now lives in Seattle, Washington.

      • name: Madeleine Roux
publishDate
2016-06-14T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
5.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Escape from Asylum
fullDescription

In this terrifying prequel novel to the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, a teen is wrongfully committed to the Brookline psychiatric hospital and must find a way out—before he becomes the next victim of the evil warden's experiments. With the page-turning suspense and unsettling found photographs from real asylums that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum "a strong YA debut," Escape from Asylum is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

The nightmare is just beginning.

Ricky Desmond has been through this all before. If he could just get through to his mother, he could convince her that he doesn't belong at Brookline. From the man who thinks he can fly to the woman who killed her husband, the other patients are nothing like him; all he did was lose his temper just a little bit, just the once. But when Ricky is selected by the sinister Warden Crawford for a very special program—a program that the warden claims will not cure him but perfect him—Ricky realizes that he may not be able to wait for his mom a second longer. With the help of a sympathetic nurse and a fellow patient, Ricky needs to escape now.

Set long before Dan, Abby, and Jordan ever walked the hallways of the Brookline asylum—back when it was still a functioning psych ward and not a dorm—Escape from Asylum is a mind-bending and scary installment in the Asylum series that can stand on its own for new readers or provide missing puzzle pieces for series fans.

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
      • value: Grade 4
reviews
      • premium: False
      • source: School Library Journal
      • content: "Seriously spooky."
      • premium: False
      • source: New York Times Bestselling Author Zac Brewer
      • content: "Days after reading Asylum, I'm still haunted by the images that Madeleine Roux's words conjured. I just want to curl up inside her skull and exist for a while in its dark, twisted magnificence. Brilliant!"
      • premium: False
      • source: Publishers Weekly
      • content: "A strong YA debut. Roux (aided by unsettling photo illustrations of abandoned asylums and tormented patients) creates an entertaining and occasionally brutal horror story that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma and terror on a place."
      • premium: False
      • source: Kirkus Reviews
      • content: "Page-turning. Fans of 'found footage' horror will enjoy this visually creepy take on the haunted-institution setting."
      • premium: False
      • source: Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
      • content: "Illustrations used in this book are from actual asylums, and the author builds the tension nicely as Dan receives what may be messages from an inmate. A good choice for readers who enjoy books with scary situations that lead to a solid climax."
popularity
624
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BWwAAAA2I/products/28c74d86-8933-4ea7-a329-824741e196dd/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
28c74d86-8933-4ea7-a329-824741e196dd
starRating
4
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/28C/74D/86/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/28C/74D/86/{28C74D86-8933-4EA7-A329-824741E196DD}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Horror
      • value: Mystery
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDateText
06/14/2016
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

In this terrifying prequel novel to the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, a teen is wrongfully committed to the Brookline psychiatric hospital and must find a way out—before he becomes the next victim of the evil warden's experiments. With the page-turning suspense and unsettling found photographs from real asylums that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum "a strong YA debut," Escape from Asylum is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

The nightmare is just beginning.

Ricky Desmond has been through this all before. If he could just get through to his mother, he could convince her that he doesn't belong at Brookline. From the man who thinks he can fly to the woman who killed her husband, the other patients are nothing like him; all he did was lose his temper just a little bit, just the once. But when Ricky is selected by the sinister Warden Crawford for a very special program—a program that the warden claims will not...

sortTitle
Escape from Asylum
lexileScore
740
crossRefId
2405068
series
Asylum
publisher
HarperCollins