We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Blood crime

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolaño and Mario Vargas Llosa.

"Startling . . . Blood Crime (beautifully translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relaño and Martha Tennent) has a sort of concentrated power that’s rare in horror novels. It’s akin to poetry." —The New York Times Book Review

It is 1936, and Barcelona burns as the Spanish Civil War takes over. The city is a bloodbath. Yet in all this death, the murders of a Marist monk and a young boy, drained of their blood, are strange enough to catch a police inspector’s attention. His quest for justice is complicated by the politics, dangers, and espionage of daily life in a war zone. The Marist brothers of the murdered monk are being persecuted; meanwhile, a convent of Capuchin nuns hides in plain sight, trading favors with the military police to stay alive. In their midst is a thirteen-year-old novice who stumbles into the clutches of the murderer. Can she escape in this city of no happy endings?

Narrated by a vampire who thrives in the havoc of the war, this stunning novel, inspired by the true story of a massacre in the early days of the Spanish Civil War, is a gothic reflection on the nature of monsters, in all their human forms.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781616956288
9781616956295
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf9e9a3e8-a0d2-28b2-9306-e62c6bc000d5
Grouping Titleblood crime
Grouping Authorsebastia alzamora
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-26 02:08:35AM
Last Indexed2022-05-26 02:59:38AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Relaño, Maruxa
Tennent, Martha
authorAlzamora, Sebastià, 1972-
author2-roleRelaño, Maruxa,translator
Tennent, Martha,translator
author_displayAlzamora, Sebastià
available_at_catalogCentral
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalogCentral
North Highlands-Antelope
display_descriptionA multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolaño and Mario Vargas Llosa.

"Startling . . . Blood Crime (beautifully translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relaño and Martha Tennent) has a sort of concentrated power that’s rare in horror novels. It’s akin to poetry." —The New York Times Book Review

It is 1936, and Barcelona burns as the Spanish Civil War takes over. The city is a bloodbath. Yet in all this death, the murders of a Marist monk and a young boy, drained of their blood, are strange enough to catch a police inspector’s attention. His quest for justice is complicated by the politics, dangers, and espionage of daily life in a war zone. The Marist brothers of the murdered monk are being persecuted; meanwhile, a convent of Capuchin nuns hides in plain sight, trading favors with the military police to stay alive. In their midst is a thirteen-year-old novice who stumbles into the clutches of the murderer. Can she escape in this city of no happy endings?

Narrated by a vampire who thrives in the havoc of the war, this stunning novel, inspired by the true story of a massacre in the early days of the Spanish Civil War, is a gothic reflection on the nature of monsters, in all their human forms.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idf9e9a3e8-a0d2-28b2-9306-e62c6bc000d5
isbn9781616956288
9781616956295
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:a355a8bf-3f37-40a9-8ae3-999271bf8bf9-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24324784.i74593031CentralFICTION Alzamora, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24324784.i74593043North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Alzamora, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-26T09:59:38.942Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Alzamora, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn9781616956288
publishDate2016
publisherSoho Crime,
Soho Press
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:a355a8bf-3f37-40a9-8ae3-999271bf8bf9eBookeBookEnglishSoho Press2016
ils:.b24324784BookBooksEnglishSoho Crime[2016]288 pages ; 22 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a355a8bf-3f37-40a9-8ae3-999271bf8bf9-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24324784.i74593031On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24324784.i74593043On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
subject_facetMurder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Spain -- History -- Civil War, 1936-1939 -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Vampires -- Fiction
title_displayBlood crime
title_fullBlood Crime
Blood crime / Sebastià Alzamora ; translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relaño and Martha Tennent
title_shortBlood crime
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
History
Investigation
Murder
Mystery
Vampires