Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Blood crime
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Uniform Title:
Contributors:
Relaño, Maruxa, translator.
Tennent, Martha, translator.
Published:
New York, NY : Soho Crime, [2016].
Physical Desc:
288 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:
Central
FICTION Alzamora, S.
North Highlands-Antelope
FICTION Alzamora, S.
Pocket-Greenhaven
FICTION Alzamora, S.
Description
A multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolaño and Mario Vargas Llosa."Startling . . . Blood Crime (beautifully translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relaño and Martha Tennent) has a sort of concentrated power that's rare in horror novels. It's akin to poetry." —The New York Times Book Review It is 1936, and Barcelona burns as the Spanish Civil War takes over. The city is a bloodbath. Yet in all this death, the murders of a Marist monk and a young boy, drained of their blood, are strange enough to catch a police inspector's attention. His quest for justice is complicated by the politics, dangers, and espionage of daily life in a war zone. The Marist brothers of the murdered monk are being persecuted; meanwhile, a convent of Capuchin nuns hides in plain sight, trading favors with the military police to stay alive. In their midst is a thirteen-year-old novice who stumbles into the clutches of the murderer. Can she escape in this city of no happy endings?Narrated by a vampire who thrives in the havoc of the war, this stunning novel, inspired by the true story of a massacre in the early days of the Spanish Civil War, is a gothic reflection on the nature of monsters, in all their human forms.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Alzamora, S.
On Shelf
North Highlands-Antelope
FICTION Alzamora, S.
On Shelf
Pocket-Greenhaven
FICTION Alzamora, S.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781616956288
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Alzamora, S., Relaño, M., & Tennent, M. (2016). Blood crime. New York, NY: Soho Crime.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Alzamora, Sebastià, 1972-, Maruxa, Relaño and Martha, Tennent. 2016. Blood Crime. New York, NY: Soho Crime.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Alzamora, Sebastià, 1972-, Maruxa, Relaño and Martha, Tennent, Blood Crime. New York, NY: Soho Crime, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Alzamora, Sebastià, Maruxa Relaño, and Martha Tennent. Blood Crime. New York, NY: Soho Crime, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f9e9a3e8-a0d2-28b2-9306-e62c6bc000d5
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 29, 2020 04:57:41 PM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 10:52:34 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 24, 2020 02:27:14 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01771pam a2200433 i 4500
001  2016010982
003DLC
00520160901103754.0
008160425s2016    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016010982
020 |a 9781616956288
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d GCmBT
0411 |a eng|h cat
042 |a pcc
043 |a e-sp---
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PC3942.1.L83|b C7513 2016
08200|a 849/.9354|2 23
1001 |a Alzamora, Sebastià,|d 1972-|e author.
24010|a Crim de sang.|l English.
24510|a Blood crime /|c Sebastià Alzamora ; translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relaño and Martha Tennent.
264 1|a New York, NY :|b Soho Crime,|c [2016]
300 |a 288 pages ;|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier.
650 0|a Vampires|v Fiction.
650 0|a Murder|x Investigation|v Fiction.
651 0|a Spain|x History|y Civil War, 1936-1939|v Fiction.
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd.
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd.
7001 |a Relaño, Maruxa,|e translator.
7001 |a Tennent, Martha,|e translator.
907 |a .b24324784|b 01-24-19|c 07-25-16
998 |a cen|a nhi|a poc|b 09-14-16|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 4
932 |a FICTION Alzamora, S.
945 |d  - - |e 06-20-2017 12:52|3 0|g 0|h 07-01-17|i 33029101951861|j 3|k  - - |l cenag|o -|p $25.95|q  |r 2|s - |t 0|u 4|v 0|w 0|x 0|0 6|1 4|y .i74593031|z 09-14-16
945 |d  - - |e 03-28-2017 18:44|3 0|g 0|h 06-08-17|i 33029101951879|j 3|k  - - |l nhiag|o -|p $25.95|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 3|v 4|w 0|x 0|0 200|1 7|y .i74593043|z 09-14-16
945 |d  - - |e  - - |3 0|g 0|h  - - |i 33029066351362|j 3|k  - - |l pocag|n CSDGift|o -|p $25.95|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|0 0|1 0|y .i74613261|z 09-16-16