Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Too good to be true
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2021.
Physical Desc:
342 pages ; 25 cm
Status:
6 copies, 5 people are on the wait list.
Central
FICTION Lovering, C.
Fair Oaks
FICTION Lovering, C.
Description

"From Carola Lovering, the author of Tell Me Lies, comes Too Good to Be True, an emotionally nuanced psychological suspense, and an obsessive, addictive love story, for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Between Us. Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips--she's smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family--she's also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother's death when she was eleven, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result. But now Burke--handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she's met before--says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn't who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he's happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends. In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy seventeen-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy. Inspired by the sophisticated mother of her babysitting charges, Heather vows to leave her impoverished hometown behind and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past--or will he find his way into her future? On a collision course she doesn't see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke's scheme grows ever more twisted. Meanwhile, three decades in the past, Heather's longed-for transformation finally seems within reach. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you'll discover that there's more than one way to spin the truth"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Lovering, C.
On Shelf
Fair Oaks
FICTION Lovering, C.
On Shelf
Fair Oaks
FICTION Lovering, C.
Due Oct 12, 2021
Sylvan Oaks
FICTION Lovering, C.
Due Oct 5, 2021
Location
Call Number
Status
Folsom Adult NEW
FICTION Lovering, C.
Due Oct 12, 2021
Woodland Public Library
FICTION Lovering, C.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250271372, 9781250274908

Notes

Description
"From Carola Lovering, the author of Tell Me Lies, comes Too Good to Be True, an emotionally nuanced psychological suspense, and an obsessive, addictive love story, for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Between Us. Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips--she's smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family--she's also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother's death when she was eleven, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result. But now Burke--handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she's met before--says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn't who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he's happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends. In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy seventeen-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy. Inspired by the sophisticated mother of her babysitting charges, Heather vows to leave her impoverished hometown behind and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past--or will he find his way into her future? On a collision course she doesn't see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke's scheme grows ever more twisted. Meanwhile, three decades in the past, Heather's longed-for transformation finally seems within reach. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you'll discover that there's more than one way to spin the truth"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Lovering, C. (2021). Too good to be true. First U.S. edition. New York: St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Lovering, Carola. 2021. Too Good to Be True. New York: St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Lovering, Carola, Too Good to Be True. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Lovering, Carola. Too Good to Be True. First U.S. edition. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2021. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
949c62c7-b20e-7397-cd8e-5717303d513b
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeSep 21, 2021 06:34:23 PM
Last File Modification TimeSep 21, 2021 06:34:29 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 22, 2021 02:30:17 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03472pam a2200469 i 4500
001  2020040976
003DLC
00520210302111004.2
008200909s2021    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2020040976
020 |a 9781250271372
020 |a 9781250274908
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d DLC|d NjBwBT|d GCmBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PS3612.O855|b T66 2021
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a Lovering, Carola,|e author.
24510|a Too good to be true /|c Carola Lovering.
250 |a First U.S. edition.
264 1|a New York :|b St. Martin's Press,|c 2021.
300 |a 342 pages ;|c 25 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "From Carola Lovering, the author of Tell Me Lies, comes Too Good to Be True, an emotionally nuanced psychological suspense, and an obsessive, addictive love story, for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Between Us. Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips--she's smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family--she's also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother's death when she was eleven, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result. But now Burke--handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she's met before--says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn't who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he's happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends. In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy seventeen-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy. Inspired by the sophisticated mother of her babysitting charges, Heather vows to leave her impoverished hometown behind and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past--or will he find his way into her future? On a collision course she doesn't see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke's scheme grows ever more twisted. Meanwhile, three decades in the past, Heather's longed-for transformation finally seems within reach. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you'll discover that there's more than one way to spin the truth"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Man-woman relationships|v Fiction.
655 7|a Psychological fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Thrillers (Fiction)|2 lcgft
655 7|a Novels.|2 lcgft
907 |a .b26592551
932 |a FICTION Lovering, C.
945 |y .i84485024|i 36796022311147|l folad|s -|k 10-12-21|u 8|x 5|w 3|v 1|t 0|z 03-09-21|o l|a FICTION Lovering, C.
945 |y .i84485954|i 33029110267432|l cenag|s -|k |u 4|x 2|w 2|v 0|t 0|z 03-10-21|o -
945 |y .i84485966|i 33029110267440|l sylad|s -|k 10-05-21|u 4|x 2|w 2|v 2|t 0|z 03-10-21|o -
945 |y .i84485978|i 33029110267457|l faiad|s -|k |u 5|x 3|w 2|v 0|t 0|z 03-10-21|o -
945 |y .i84485991|i 33029110267473|l faiad|s -|k 10-12-21|u 5|x 3|w 2|v 1|t 0|z 03-10-21|o -
945 |y .i84532804|i 31652003303584|l wdpa|s -|k |u 3|x 2|w 1|v 1|t 0|z 03-20-21|o l|a FICTION Lovering, C.
995 0|a Loaded with m2btab.marciveb 2021-03
995 0|a Loaded with m2btab.splbtbi 2021-03
995 0|a Loaded with m2btab.ingra 2021-01
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a cen|a fai|a fol|a ora|a syl|a wdp