We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A French wedding: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Published:
New York : Doubleday, 2017.
Physical Desc:
304 pages ; 22 cm
Status:
Central
FICTION Tunnicliffe, H.

Description

"A French Wedding is a delicious novel about six college friends reuniting on the coast of Brittany to celebrate one of their own's fortieth birthday. Add sumptuous food plus plenty of wine, and the table is set for tricky romantic entanglements, fiery outbursts, and a range of secrets. Readers who loved The Vacationers and The Little Paris Bookshop will devour this irresistible novel. Max is a washed-up rock star who's about to turn forty and feeling nostalgic for his university days. All he says he wants for his birthday is to host his old friends at his house in the French countryside for a weekend of good food and reminiscing. But he has an ulterior motive: Finally ready to settle down, this is his chance to declare his secret, undying love to his best friend, Helen. Max's private chef, Juliette, has just returned to her hometown after a nasty breakup, and her parents' failing health move her to sell her dream restaurant in Paris. Feeling directionless, Juliette throws herself into her job, hoping that the peace and quiet it offers will be the perfect cure for her broken heart. But when Max's friends arrive, the introverted, dreamy Juliette finds herself drawn out of her orderly kitchen and into their tumultuous relationships. A weekend thinking about the past spurs more than one emotional crisis, as the friends take stock of whether they've lived up to their ideals. With a little seafood and a lot of wine, love triangles, abandoned dreams, and long-held resentments bubble over, culminating in a wedding none of them ever expected"--

Also in This Series

Copies

Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Tunnicliffe, H.
On Shelf

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
Book
Edition:
First American edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780385541848

Notes

Description
"A French Wedding is a delicious novel about six college friends reuniting on the coast of Brittany to celebrate one of their own's fortieth birthday. Add sumptuous food plus plenty of wine, and the table is set for tricky romantic entanglements, fiery outbursts, and a range of secrets. Readers who loved The Vacationers and The Little Paris Bookshop will devour this irresistible novel. Max is a washed-up rock star who's about to turn forty and feeling nostalgic for his university days. All he says he wants for his birthday is to host his old friends at his house in the French countryside for a weekend of good food and reminiscing. But he has an ulterior motive: Finally ready to settle down, this is his chance to declare his secret, undying love to his best friend, Helen. Max's private chef, Juliette, has just returned to her hometown after a nasty breakup, and her parents' failing health move her to sell her dream restaurant in Paris. Feeling directionless, Juliette throws herself into her job, hoping that the peace and quiet it offers will be the perfect cure for her broken heart. But when Max's friends arrive, the introverted, dreamy Juliette finds herself drawn out of her orderly kitchen and into their tumultuous relationships. A weekend thinking about the past spurs more than one emotional crisis, as the friends take stock of whether they've lived up to their ideals. With a little seafood and a lot of wine, love triangles, abandoned dreams, and long-held resentments bubble over, culminating in a wedding none of them ever expected"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Tunnicliffe, H. (2017). A French wedding: a novel. First American edition. New York, Doubleday.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Tunnicliffe, Hannah, 1979-. 2017. A French Wedding: A Novel. New York, Doubleday.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Tunnicliffe, Hannah, 1979-, A French Wedding: A Novel. New York, Doubleday, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Tunnicliffe, Hannah. A French Wedding: A Novel. First American edition. New York, Doubleday, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
9c4987c3-4b5f-8e34-0f64-aaa11475555d
Go To Grouped Work

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 16, 2024 08:21:08 AM
Last File Modification TimeJul 16, 2024 08:21:44 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 20, 2024 02:10:59 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02558pam 2200325 i 4500
001  2016043650
003DLC
00520170524105800.0
008161031s2017    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016043650
020 |a 9780385541848
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d NjBwBT |d NvReBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000 |a PR9199.4.T836 |b F74 2017
08200 |a 813/.6 |2 23
1001 |a Tunnicliffe, Hannah, |d 1979- |e author.
24512 |a A French wedding : |b a novel / |c Hannah Tunnicliffe.
250 |a First American edition.
2641 |a New York : |b Doubleday, |c 2017.
300 |a 304 pages ; |c 22 cm
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
520 |a "A French Wedding is a delicious novel about six college friends reuniting on the coast of Brittany to celebrate one of their own's fortieth birthday. Add sumptuous food plus plenty of wine, and the table is set for tricky romantic entanglements, fiery outbursts, and a range of secrets. Readers who loved The Vacationers and The Little Paris Bookshop will devour this irresistible novel. Max is a washed-up rock star who's about to turn forty and feeling nostalgic for his university days. All he says he wants for his birthday is to host his old friends at his house in the French countryside for a weekend of good food and reminiscing. But he has an ulterior motive: Finally ready to settle down, this is his chance to declare his secret, undying love to his best friend, Helen. Max's private chef, Juliette, has just returned to her hometown after a nasty breakup, and her parents' failing health move her to sell her dream restaurant in Paris. Feeling directionless, Juliette throws herself into her job, hoping that the peace and quiet it offers will be the perfect cure for her broken heart. But when Max's friends arrive, the introverted, dreamy Juliette finds herself drawn out of her orderly kitchen and into their tumultuous relationships. A weekend thinking about the past spurs more than one emotional crisis, as the friends take stock of whether they've lived up to their ideals. With a little seafood and a lot of wine, love triangles, abandoned dreams, and long-held resentments bubble over, culminating in a wedding none of them ever expected"-- |c Provided by publisher.
907 |a .b24801872
932 |a FICTION Tunnicliffe, H.
945 |y .i76122281 |i 33029103248159 |l cenag |s - |k  |u 11 |x 0 |w 0 |v 14 |t 0 |z 06-07-17 |o -
948 |a WDP Featured List 07/17
998 |e - |d a  |f eng |a cen