We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The stranger in the woods: the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(6)
4 star
 
(5)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2017.
Physical Desc:
203 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Status:
Arcade
974.1043 F499 2017
Arden-Dimick
974.1043 F499 2017
Carmichael
974.1043 F499 2017
Description

"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Arcade
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Arden-Dimick
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Carmichael
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Central
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Central
974.1043 F499 2017
Due May 18, 2024
Colonial Heights
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Del Paso Heights
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Fair Oaks
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Franklin
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Franklin
974.1043 F499 2017
Due May 25, 2024
Galt
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Martin Luther King, Jr.
974.1043 F499 2017
Due Jun 8, 2024
McClatchy
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
McKinley
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
North Highlands-Antelope
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
North Natomas
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Orangevale
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Pocket-Greenhaven
974.1043 F499 2017
Due May 29, 2024
Rancho Cordova
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Rio Linda
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Southgate
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Valley Hi-North Laguna
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Walnut Grove
974.1043 F499 2017
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Folsom Adult
974.1043 FIN 2017
On Shelf
Woodland Public Library
BIOGRAPHY Knight, C. 2017
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101875681

Notes

Description
"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Finkel, M. (2017). The stranger in the woods: the extraordinary story of the last true hermit. First edition. New York, Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Finkel, Michael. 2017. The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit. New York, Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Finkel, Michael, The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit. New York, Alfred A. Knopf, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Finkel, Michael. The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit. First edition. New York, Alfred A. Knopf, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f8c86af6-4d0c-ba09-da55-ba37cd21441d
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMay 20, 2024 08:01:20 AM
Last File Modification TimeMay 20, 2024 08:03:39 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 21, 2024 02:10:58 AM

MARC Record

LEADER04983nam 2200721 i 4500
001  2016029910
003DLC
00520180501164024.0
008160713s2017    nyua          000 0beng  
010 |a 2016029910
020 |a 9781101875681
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT|d GCmBT
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us-me
049 |a JRSA
05000|a CT9991.K65|b F56 2017
08200|a 974.1/22043092|a B|2 23
099 |a 974.1043 F499 2017
1001 |a Finkel, Michael,|e author.
24514|a The stranger in the woods :|b the extraordinary story of the last true hermit /|c Michael Finkel.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Alfred A. Knopf,|c 2017.
300 |a 203 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 22 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
5202 |a "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
60010|a Knight, Christopher Thomas,|d 1965-
650 0|a Hermits|z Maine|z Smithfield Region|v Biography.
650 0|a Recluses|z Maine|z Smithfield Region|v Biography.
650 0|a Thieves|z Maine|z Smithfield Region|v Biography.
650 0|a Survival|v Case studies.
650 0|a Solitude|v Case studies.
651 0|a Smithfield Region (Me.)|v Biography.
907 |a .b24538619
945 |y .i75494462|i 33029102416864|l cenag|s -|k |u 31|x 0|w 2|v 18|t 3|z 03-07-17|o -
945 |y .i75514175|i 31652002984301|l wdpa|s -|k |u 13|x 1|w 1|v 6|t 0|z 03-10-17|o -|a BIOGRAPHY Knight, C. 2017
945 |y .i75687380|i 33029071236905|l ranag|s -|k |u 18|x 0|w 1|v 5|t 3|z 04-13-17|o -
945 |y .i7574935x|i 33029102552189|l faiag|s -|k |u 16|x 0|w 2|v 5|t 3|z 04-18-17|o -
945 |y .i75751537|i 36796021711404|l fola|s -|k |u 23|x 0|w 1|v 4|t 3|z 04-18-17|o l|a 974.1043 FIN 2017
945 |y .i75827256|i 33029102578614|l mckag|s -|k |u 22|x 3|w 1|v 11|t 3|z 04-27-17|o -
945 |y .i75827311|i 33029102578671|l nhiag|s -|k |u 15|x 0|w 0|v 5|t 3|z 04-27-17|o -
945 |y .i75924523|i 33029062414255|l rioag|s -|k |u 23|x 3|w 0|v 2|t 3|z 05-10-17|o -
945 |y .i75924560|i 33029062414297|l souag|s -|k |u 8|x 0|w 0|v 3|t 3|z 05-10-17|o -
945 |y .i75924572|i 33029062414305|l galag|s -|k |u 30|x 1|w 1|v 24|t 3|z 05-10-17|o -
945 |y .i75924596|i 33029062414321|l fraag|s -|k |u 25|x 0|w 3|v 2|t 3|z 05-10-17|o -
945 |y .i75924602|i 33029062414339|l valag|s -|k |u 17|x 1|w 0|v 6|t 3|z 05-10-17|o -
945 |y .i76144653|i 33029070988902|l carag|s -|k |u 12|x 0|w 2|v 10|t 3|z 06-09-17|o -
945 |y .i76486564|i 33029066641549|l cenag|s -|k 05-18-24|u 24|x 1|w 1|v 11|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486576|i 33029066641556|l nntag|s -|k |u 11|x 1|w 0|v 1|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i7648659x|i 33029066641572|l walag|s -|k |u 18|x 1|w 1|v 5|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486606|i 33029066641580|l mccag|s -|k |u 22|x 4|w 2|v 14|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486643|i 33029066641622|l chsag|s -|k |u 9|x 0|w 1|v 1|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486655|i 33029066641630|l delag|s -|k |u 13|x 1|w 3|v 5|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486667|i 33029066641648|l ardag|s -|k |u 24|x 2|w 3|v 6|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486680|i 33029066641663|l fraag|s -|k 05-25-24|u 25|x 0|w 4|v 4|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486692|i 33029066641671|l pocag|s -|k 05-29-24|u 20|x 0|w 1|v 1|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486709|i 33029066641689|l oraag|s -|k |u 10|x 1|w 0|v 2|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i76486710|i 33029066641697|l arcag|s -|k |u 13|x 0|w 1|v 0|t 3|z 08-17-17|o -
945 |y .i78528720|i 33029105350425|l nsaag|s -|k |u 5|x 2|w 0|v 3|t 3|z 06-12-18|o -
945 |y .i78707547|i 33029105364798|l kinag|s -|k 06-08-24|u 8|x 0|w 2|v 3|t 3|z 06-20-18|o -
994 |a NOT BIO
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a arc|a ard|a car|a cen|a chs|a del|a fai|a fol|a fra|a gal|a kin|a mcc|a mck|a nhi|a nnt|a nsa|a ora|a poc|a ran|a rio|a sou|a val|a wal|a wdp