Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Stolen beauty: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Atria Books, 2017.
Physical Desc:
306 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Franklin
FICTION Lico Albanese, L.
Description
"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported." —Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

"Albanese artfully weaves Adele's story with Maria's harrowing life under the Nazis, but it's hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today's headlines. Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?" —USA TODAY

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
In the dazzling glitter of 1903 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer—young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish—meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the façade of conventional society, the city is also troubled by a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism as political hatred simmers in the shadows of Adele's coffeehouse afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria—and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their stately home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her loved ones—and their history—alive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazi rule? And what will become of the paintings for which her aunt sacrificed nearly everything?

Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Franklin
FICTION Lico Albanese, L.
On Shelf
Sacramento Public Library
FICTION Lico Albanese, L.
In Processing
Sacramento Public Library
FICTION Lico Albanese, L.
In Processing
Sacramento Public Library
FICTION Lico Albanese, L.
In Processing
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501131981, 9781501167041, 1501167049
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Lico Albanese, L. (2017). Stolen beauty: a novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York: Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Lico Albanese, Laurie, 1959-. 2017. Stolen Beauty: A Novel. New York: Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Lico Albanese, Laurie, 1959-, Stolen Beauty: A Novel. New York: Atria Books, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Lico Albanese, Laurie. Stolen Beauty: A Novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York: Atria Books, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
112d0fc3-2de8-d348-a006-cb4f55504cb4
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeSep 17, 2021 06:00:15 AM
Last File Modification TimeSep 17, 2021 06:05:42 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 18, 2021 02:29:36 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01647pam 2200457 i 4500
001  2016023119
003DLC
00520170125131654.0
008160620s2017    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016023119
020 |a 9781501131981
020 |a 9781501167041
020 |a 1501167049
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PS3562.I324|b S76 2017
08200|a 813/.54|2 23
1001 |a Lico Albanese, Laurie,|d 1959-|e author.
24510|a Stolen beauty :|b a novel /|c Laurie Lico Albanese.
250 |a First Atria Books hardcover edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Atria Books,|c 2017.
300 |a 306 pages ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
60010|a Bloch-Bauer, Adele,|d 1881-1925|v Fiction.
60010|a Klimt, Gustav,|d 1862-1918|v Fiction.
60010|a Altmann, Maria,|d 1916-2011|v Fiction.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|z Austria|z Vienna|v Fiction.
651 0|a Vienna (Austria)|x History|y 20th century|v Fiction.
655 7|a Biographical fiction.|2 gsafd
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 gsafd
907 |a .b24518608
932 |a FICTION Lico Albanese, L.
945 |y .i75340513|i 33029102336401|l fraag|s -|k |u 9|x 0|w 0|v 18|t 0|z 02-08-17|o -
945 |y .i85628542|i 33029108568403|l splag|s p|k |u 0|x 0|w 0|v 0|t 0|z 09-16-21|o -
945 |y .i85628554|i 33029108568411|l splag|s p|k |u 0|x 0|w 0|v 0|t 0|z 09-16-21|o -
945 |y .i85628566|i 33029108568429|l splag|s p|k |u 0|x 0|w 0|v 0|t 0|z 09-16-21|o -
948 |a WDP Featured List 02/17
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a fra|a spl