We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Vegas girls: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Published:
New York : Skyhorse Publishing, 2016.
Physical Desc:
339 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Carmichael
FICTION Skyler, H.

Description

"For Fans of Julia Glass and Ann Hood, a Novel about How the Choices We Make Last a Lifetime. Vegas Girls begins when three former high school friends, now in their mid-thirties, reunite in their hometown of Las Vegas-a city they vowed to escape as soon as they could-to celebrate their new lives and revisit old haunts. But what starts out as a week-long, sun-kissed reunion takes a strange turn as mysterious gifts appear, familiar faces pop up in unexpected places, and each woman reveals a secret, private quest. Ramona is searching for a son she gave up for adoption before their high-school graduation. Jane is trying to leave her husband of eleven years, even with her two kids in tow. And Ivy, who has a new baby, is haunted by the memory of her mother abandoning her twenty years ago-and she has begun spotting her everywhere. Add to this a darkly charismatic ex-boyfriend of Ivy's who won't give up hope of rekindling their romance, and a strange, new friend of Jane's in need of help, and the week quickly begins to unravel. Set against desert heat, swimming pools, and casino lights, and told masterfully through five different points of view, Vegas Girls is about how we navigate the present while carrying the ghosts of our past; about growing up with one eye glued to the rearview mirror; and about what happens when the past you thought you left behind turns out to have been with you all along."--

Also in This Series

Copies

Location
Call Number
Status
Carmichael
FICTION Skyler, H.
On Shelf
Central
FICTION Skyler, H.
Due Jul 23, 2024

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Street Date:
1610
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781510710832, 1510710833

Notes

Description
"For Fans of Julia Glass and Ann Hood, a Novel about How the Choices We Make Last a Lifetime. Vegas Girls begins when three former high school friends, now in their mid-thirties, reunite in their hometown of Las Vegas-a city they vowed to escape as soon as they could-to celebrate their new lives and revisit old haunts. But what starts out as a week-long, sun-kissed reunion takes a strange turn as mysterious gifts appear, familiar faces pop up in unexpected places, and each woman reveals a secret, private quest. Ramona is searching for a son she gave up for adoption before their high-school graduation. Jane is trying to leave her husband of eleven years, even with her two kids in tow. And Ivy, who has a new baby, is haunted by the memory of her mother abandoning her twenty years ago-and she has begun spotting her everywhere. Add to this a darkly charismatic ex-boyfriend of Ivy's who won't give up hope of rekindling their romance, and a strange, new friend of Jane's in need of help, and the week quickly begins to unravel. Set against desert heat, swimming pools, and casino lights, and told masterfully through five different points of view, Vegas Girls is about how we navigate the present while carrying the ghosts of our past; about growing up with one eye glued to the rearview mirror; and about what happens when the past you thought you left behind turns out to have been with you all along."--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Skyler, H. (2016). Vegas girls: a novel. First edition. New York, Skyhorse Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Skyler, Heather. 2016. Vegas Girls: A Novel. New York, Skyhorse Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Skyler, Heather, Vegas Girls: A Novel. New York, Skyhorse Publishing, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Skyler, Heather. Vegas Girls: A Novel. First edition. New York, Skyhorse Publishing, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
5c06fb08-3d42-3d98-876e-c846c25cad09
Go To Grouped Work

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 18, 2024 06:21:11 PM
Last File Modification TimeJul 18, 2024 06:21:28 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 20, 2024 02:10:59 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02804cam 2200409 i 4500
001ocn952226494
003OCoLC
00520161007055804.0
008160613s2016    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016015717
020 |a 9781510710832
020 |a 1510710833
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d OCLCO |d OCLCQ |d OCLCO |d LF3
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000 |a PS3619.K95 |b V44 2016
08200 |a 813/.6 |2 23
1001 |a Skyler, Heather, |e author.
24510 |a Vegas girls : |b a novel / |c Heather Skyler.
250 |a First edition.
263 |a 1610
2641 |a New York : |b Skyhorse Publishing, |c 2016.
300 |a 339 pages ; |c 24 cm
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
520 |a "For Fans of Julia Glass and Ann Hood, a Novel about How the Choices We Make Last a Lifetime. Vegas Girls begins when three former high school friends, now in their mid-thirties, reunite in their hometown of Las Vegas-a city they vowed to escape as soon as they could-to celebrate their new lives and revisit old haunts. But what starts out as a week-long, sun-kissed reunion takes a strange turn as mysterious gifts appear, familiar faces pop up in unexpected places, and each woman reveals a secret, private quest. Ramona is searching for a son she gave up for adoption before their high-school graduation. Jane is trying to leave her husband of eleven years, even with her two kids in tow. And Ivy, who has a new baby, is haunted by the memory of her mother abandoning her twenty years ago-and she has begun spotting her everywhere. Add to this a darkly charismatic ex-boyfriend of Ivy's who won't give up hope of rekindling their romance, and a strange, new friend of Jane's in need of help, and the week quickly begins to unravel. Set against desert heat, swimming pools, and casino lights, and told masterfully through five different points of view, Vegas Girls is about how we navigate the present while carrying the ghosts of our past; about growing up with one eye glued to the rearview mirror; and about what happens when the past you thought you left behind turns out to have been with you all along."-- |c Provided by publisher.
6500 |a Female friendship |v Fiction.
6500 |a Secrecy |v Fiction.
6500 |a Families |v Fiction.
6557 |a Bildungsromans. |2 gsafd
77608 |i Online version: |a Skyler, Heather, author. |t Vegas girls. |b First edition. |d New York : Skyhorse Publishing, 2016 |z 9781510710856 |w (DLC) 2016029530
907 |a .b24402746
932 |a FICTION Skyler, H.
945 |y .i74807432 |i 33029102070349 |l carag |s - |k  |u 15 |x 1 |w 0 |v 2 |t 0 |z 10-19-16 |o -
945 |y .i74807444 |i 33029102070356 |l cenag |s - |k 07-23-24 |u 12 |x 0 |w 1 |v 4 |t 0 |z 10-19-16 |o -
998 |e - |d a  |f eng |a car |a cen