We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The devil you know: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Physical Desc:
308 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Central
FICTION De Mariaffi, E.
Sylvan Oaks
FICTION De Mariaffi, E.
Description

"In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger--and a stalker--right to her doorstep. The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold. Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help--but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large--and that he's coming back for her. From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION De Mariaffi, E.
On Shelf
Sylvan Oaks
FICTION De Mariaffi, E.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781476779096, 9781476779089

Notes

General Note
"A Touchstone book."
Description
"In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger--and a stalker--right to her doorstep. The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold. Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help--but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large--and that he's coming back for her. From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

De Mariaffi, E. (2015). The devil you know: a novel. First Touchstone hardcover edition. New York, Simon & Schuster.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

De Mariaffi, Elisabeth, 1973-. 2015. The Devil You Know: A Novel. New York, Simon & Schuster.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

De Mariaffi, Elisabeth, 1973-, The Devil You Know: A Novel. New York, Simon & Schuster, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

De Mariaffi, Elisabeth. The Devil You Know: A Novel. First Touchstone hardcover edition. New York, Simon & Schuster, 2015.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
224371d8-e097-c6d0-e8d1-0da9d2c880bc
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeNov 25, 2022 06:53:32 PM
Last File Modification TimeNov 25, 2022 06:54:02 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 07, 2022 02:08:34 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02381pam 2200397 i 4500
001  2014016059
003DLC
00520150105075648.0
008140708s2015    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2014016059
020 |a 9781476779096
020 |a 9781476779089
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR9199.4.D427|b D48 2015
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a De Mariaffi, Elisabeth,|d 1973-
24514|a The devil you know :|b a novel /|c Elisabeth de Mariaffi.
250 |a First Touchstone hardcover edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Simon & Schuster,|c 2015.
300 |a 308 pages ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
500 |a "A Touchstone book."
520 |a "In the vein of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison's The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger--and a stalker--right to her doorstep. The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne's case cold. Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help--but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large--and that he's coming back for her. From critically acclaimed author Elisabeth de Mariaffi comes a spine-tingling debut about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Women journalists|v Fiction.
650 0|a Murder|x Investigation|v Fiction.
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd
907 |a .b23178875
932 |a FICTION De Mariaffi, E.
945 |y .i71292184|i 33029099577272|l cenag|s -|k |u 15|x 0|w 0|v 2|t 0|z 01-21-15|o -
945 |y .i71292214|i 33029099577306|l sylag|s -|k |u 11|x 0|w 1|v 0|t 0|z 01-21-15|o -
948 |a WDP Featured List (02/15)
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a cen|a syl