We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The night garden: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Published:
New York : Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2014].
Physical Desc:
335 pages ; 21 cm.
Status:
Central
FICTION Van Allen, L.
Franklin
FICTION Van Allen, L.
Description

"For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet at its center lies something remarkable: a wild maze of colorful gardens that reaches beyond the imagination. Local legend says that a visitor can gain answers to life's most difficult problems simply by walking through its lush corridors. Yet the labyrinth has never helped Olivia Pennywort, the garden's beautiful and enigmatic caretaker. She has spent her entire life on her family's land, harboring a secret that forces her to keep everyone at arm's length. But when her childhood best friend, Sam Van Winkle, returns to the valley, Olivia begins to question her safe, isolated world and wonders if she at last has the courage to let someone in. As she and Sam reconnect, Olivia faces a difficult question: Is the garden maze that she has nurtured all of her life a safe haven or a prison? Praise for Lisa Van Allen's The Wishing Thread "Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You're going to love this book."--Debbie Macomber "Whimsical. great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman."--Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Van Allen, L.
On Shelf
Franklin
FICTION Van Allen, L.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780345537836, 0345537831

Notes

General Note
Includes a reader's guide.
Description
"For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet at its center lies something remarkable: a wild maze of colorful gardens that reaches beyond the imagination. Local legend says that a visitor can gain answers to life's most difficult problems simply by walking through its lush corridors. Yet the labyrinth has never helped Olivia Pennywort, the garden's beautiful and enigmatic caretaker. She has spent her entire life on her family's land, harboring a secret that forces her to keep everyone at arm's length. But when her childhood best friend, Sam Van Winkle, returns to the valley, Olivia begins to question her safe, isolated world and wonders if she at last has the courage to let someone in. As she and Sam reconnect, Olivia faces a difficult question: Is the garden maze that she has nurtured all of her life a safe haven or a prison? Praise for Lisa Van Allen's The Wishing Thread "Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You're going to love this book."--Debbie Macomber "Whimsical. great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman."--Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Van Allen, L. (2014). The night garden: a novel. New York: Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Van Allen, Lisa. 2014. The Night Garden: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Van Allen, Lisa, The Night Garden: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Van Allen, Lisa. The Night Garden: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, 2014. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
5e2ddc7f-0d6b-23e0-3c37-76d6692990d9
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 01, 2021 06:52:54 PM
Last File Modification TimeJul 02, 2021 03:34:18 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 27, 2021 02:08:20 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02749nam a2200361 i 4500
001sky261789297
003SKY
00520140927000000.0
008140908s2014    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2014029592
020 |a 9780345537836
020 |a 0345537831
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d SKYRV
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PS3622.A5565|b N54 2014
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a Van Allen, Lisa.
24514|a The night garden :|b a novel /|c Lisa Van Allen.
264 1|a New York :|b Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks,|c [2014]
300 |a 335 pages ;|c 21 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier.
500 |a Includes a reader's guide.
520 |a "For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet at its center lies something remarkable: a wild maze of colorful gardens that reaches beyond the imagination. Local legend says that a visitor can gain answers to life's most difficult problems simply by walking through its lush corridors. Yet the labyrinth has never helped Olivia Pennywort, the garden's beautiful and enigmatic caretaker. She has spent her entire life on her family's land, harboring a secret that forces her to keep everyone at arm's length. But when her childhood best friend, Sam Van Winkle, returns to the valley, Olivia begins to question her safe, isolated world and wonders if she at last has the courage to let someone in. As she and Sam reconnect, Olivia faces a difficult question: Is the garden maze that she has nurtured all of her life a safe haven or a prison? Praise for Lisa Van Allen's The Wishing Thread "Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You're going to love this book."--Debbie Macomber "Whimsical. great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman."--Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Gardens|v Fiction.
655 7|a Love stories.|2 gsafd.
907 |a .b23023867|b 01-30-20|c 09-22-14
998 |a cen|a fra|b 10-10-14|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 5
932 |a FICTION Van Allen, L.
945 |d  - - |e 10-23-2019 17:08|3 0|g 0|h 06-02-20|i 33029099265936|j 3|k  - - |l cenag|o -|p $15.00|q  |r 2|s - |t 0|u 18|v 26|w 0|x 0|0 99|1 26|y .i70681417|z 10-10-14
945 |d  - - |e 01-30-2020 10:36|3 0|g 0|h 02-04-20|i 33029099265969|j 3|k  - - |l fraag|o -|p $15.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 22|v 15|w 0|x 0|0 85|1 85|y .i70681442|z 10-10-14