Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The Night Tiger: A Novel
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(4)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(1)
Author:
Published:
Flatiron Books 2019
Status:
Checked Out
Description

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club PickINSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." —Kirkus (starred review)

An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee

Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for.

Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes.

Yangsze Choo's The Night Tiger pulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible.

"A work of incredible beauty... Astoundingly captivating and striking... A transcendent story of courage and connection." —Booklist (starred review)

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
02/12/2019
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250175441
ASIN:
B07FSHDT88
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Yangsze Choo. (2019). The Night Tiger: A Novel. Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Yangsze Choo. 2019. The Night Tiger: A Novel. Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Yangsze Choo, The Night Tiger: A Novel. Flatiron Books, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Yangsze Choo. The Night Tiger: A Novel. Flatiron Books, 2019. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10

There are 3 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
079bf34a-fa15-8e20-d341-9a7fd1e8e024
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Feb 08, 2019 13:07:14
Date Updated:
Dec 09, 2020 11:00:14
Last Metadata Check:
Apr 17, 2021 20:13:30
Last Metadata Change:
Apr 11, 2021 13:21:47
Last Availability Check:
Apr 17, 2021 20:13:33
Last Availability Change:
Apr 14, 2021 20:41:19
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Apr 17, 2021 02:28:02

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2390-1/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2390-1/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2390-1/ADA/0F9/C4/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2390-1/ADA/0F9/C4/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250175441
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B07FSHDT88
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250175441
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Yangsze Choo
title
The Night Tiger
dateAdded
2019-03-21T17:33:47.337-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=569&titleID=4197577
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: NorthNet Library System (CA)
          • id: 2323
sortTitle
Night Tiger A Novel
crossRefId
4197577
subtitle
A Novel
id
ada0f9c4-514a-4eb0-a197-fbc02173cbeb
starRating
4

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2390-1/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2390-1/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2390-1/ADA/0F9/C4/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2390-1/ADA/0F9/C4/{ADA0F9C4-514A-4EB0-A197-FBC02173CBEB}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: NightTigerANovel9781250175441
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 10364720
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250175441
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 02/12/2019
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ada0f9c4-514a-4eb0-a197-fbc02173cbeb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: NightTigerANovel9781250175441
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B07FSHDT88
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 02/12/2019
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ada0f9c4-514a-4eb0-a197-fbc02173cbeb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: NightTigerANovel9781250175441
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250175441
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 02/12/2019
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ada0f9c4-514a-4eb0-a197-fbc02173cbeb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
keywords
      • value: Literary
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Choo, Yangsze
      • bioText:

        Yangsze Choo is a Malaysian writer of Chinese descent. After receiving her undergraduate degree from Harvard, she worked as a management consultant before writing her New York Times bestselling debut novel The Ghost Bride, now a Netflix Original series. She lives in California with her family and several chickens, and loves to eat and read (often at the same time). The Night Tiger would not have been possible without large quantities of dark chocolate.

        Yangsze is happy to visit bookclubs via Skype! You can find her on her website, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

      • name: Yangsze Choo
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Mythology
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDate
2019-02-12T00:00:00-05:00
publishDateText
02/12/2019
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." —Kirkus (starred review)

An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee

Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for.

Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Night Tiger
fullDescription

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." —Kirkus (starred review)

An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee

Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for.

Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes.

Yangsze Choo's The Night Tiger pulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible.

"A work of incredible beauty... Astoundingly captivating and striking... A transcendent story of courage and connection." —Booklist (starred review)

sortTitle
Night Tiger A Novel
crossRefId
4197577
subtitle
A Novel
popularity
5035
publisher
Flatiron Books
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/ada0f9c4-514a-4eb0-a197-fbc02173cbeb/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
ada0f9c4-514a-4eb0-a197-fbc02173cbeb
starRating
4