We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Light Pirate
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Average user rating: 5 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Hachette Audio 2022
Status:
Available from OverDrive

Description

For readers of Station Eleven and Where the Crawdads Sing comes a hopeful, sweeping story of survival and resilience spanning one extraordinary woman's lifetime as she navigates the uncertainty, brutality, and arresting beauty of a rapidly changing world.
Florida is slipping away. As devastating weather patterns and rising sea levels wreak gradual havoc on the state's infrastructure, a powerful hurricane approaches a small town on the southeastern coast. Kirby Lowe, an electrical line worker, his pregnant wife, Frida, and their two sons, Flip and Lucas, prepare for the worst. When the boys go missing just before the hurricane hits, Kirby heads out into the high winds in search of his children. Left alone, Frida goes into premature labor and gives birth to an unusual child, Wanda, whom she names after the catastrophic storm that ushers her into a society closer to collapse than ever before.
As Florida continues to unravel, Wanda grows. Moving from childhood to adulthood, adapting not only to the changing landscape, but also to the people who stayed behind in a place abandoned by civilization, Wanda loses family, gains community, and ultimately, seeks adventure, love, and purpose in a place remade by nature.
Told in four parts—power, water, light, and time—The Light Pirate mirrors the rhythms of the elements and the sometimes quick, sometimes slow dissolution of the world as we know it. It is a meditation on the changes we would rather not see, the future we would rather not greet, and a call back to the beauty and violence of an untamable wilderness.

Also in This Series

Formats

OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
OverDrive Listen
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
12/06/2022
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781668611401

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Lily Brooks-Dalton. (2022). The Light Pirate. Unabridged Hachette Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Lily Brooks-Dalton. 2022. The Light Pirate. Hachette Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Lily Brooks-Dalton, The Light Pirate. Hachette Audio, 2022.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Lily Brooks-Dalton. The Light Pirate. Unabridged Hachette Audio, 2022.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Copy Details

LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection62

There are 4 holds on this title.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
7a4f196d-287c-437f-2c51-e4daa9960c61
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Dec 02, 2022 13:42:58
Date Updated:
Dec 02, 2022 13:42:58
Last Metadata Check:
Jun 13, 2024 20:30:27
Last Metadata Change:
Jun 12, 2024 23:17:55
Last Availability Check:
Jun 13, 2024 20:30:29
Last Availability Change:
Jun 11, 2024 20:45:54
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jun 13, 2024 20:30:15

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Light Pirate
crossRefId
8796209
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG100.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG200.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG150.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG400.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781668620496
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781668620496
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9781538708279
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Lily Brooks-Dalton
id
9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3
title
The Light Pirate
starRating
0
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=8796209
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • duration: 11:23:00
      • fileName: TheLightPirate_9781668611401_8796209
      • partCount: 10
      • fileSize: 325997100
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781668611401
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 12/6/2022
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=9056c854-e26a-4c05-9dd8-e8ca956b2fc3&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • duration: 11:19:04
      • fileName: TheLightPirate_9781668611401_8796209
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 325958838
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781668611401
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 12/6/2022
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=9056c854-e26a-4c05-9dd8-e8ca956b2fc3&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: family
      • value: literary fiction
      • value: Fiction
      • value: love story
      • value: magical realism
      • value: Siblings
      • value: speculative
      • value: strong female protagonist
      • value: upmarket fiction
      • value: post apocalyptic book
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Brooks-Dalton, Lily
      • name: Lily Brooks-Dalton
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Benson, Rosemary
      • name: Rosemary Benson
imprint
Grand Central Publishing
publishDate
2022-12-06T00:00:00-05:00
edition
Unabridged
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Light Pirate
fullDescription
For readers of Station Eleven and Where the Crawdads Sing comes a hopeful, sweeping story of survival and resilience spanning one extraordinary woman's lifetime as she navigates the uncertainty, brutality, and arresting beauty of a rapidly changing world.
Florida is slipping away. As devastating weather patterns and rising sea levels wreak gradual havoc on the state's infrastructure, a powerful hurricane approaches a small town on the southeastern coast. Kirby Lowe, an electrical line worker, his pregnant wife, Frida, and their two sons, Flip and Lucas, prepare for the worst. When the boys go missing just before the hurricane hits, Kirby heads out into the high winds in search of his children. Left alone, Frida goes into premature labor and gives birth to an unusual child, Wanda, whom she names after the catastrophic storm that ushers her into a society closer to collapse than ever before.
As Florida continues to unravel, Wanda grows. Moving from childhood to adulthood, adapting not only to the changing landscape, but also to the people who stayed behind in a place abandoned by civilization, Wanda loses family, gains community, and ultimately, seeks adventure, love, and purpose in a place remade by nature.
Told in four parts—power, water, light, and time—The Light Pirate mirrors the rhythms of the elements and the sometimes quick, sometimes slow dissolution of the world as we know it. It is a meditation on the changes we would rather not see, the future we would rather not greet, and a call back to the beauty and violence of an untamable wilderness.
popularity
5875
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/9056c854-e26a-4c05-9dd8-e8ca956b2fc3/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
    • shareInLibby:
        • href: https://link.overdrive.com/share?titleId=8796209
        • type: text/HTML
id
9056c854-e26a-4c05-9dd8-e8ca956b2fc3
starRating
3.3
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG100.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG200.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG150.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/4575-1/{9056C854-E26A-4C05-9DD8-E8CA956B2FC3}IMG400.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Thriller
publishDateText
12/06/2022
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9781538708279
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
For readers of Station Eleven and Where the Crawdads Sing comes a hopeful, sweeping story of survival and resilience spanning one extraordinary woman's lifetime as she navigates the uncertainty, brutality, and arresting beauty of a rapidly changing world.
Florida is slipping away. As devastating weather patterns and rising sea levels wreak gradual havoc on the state's infrastructure, a powerful hurricane approaches a small town on the southeastern coast. Kirby Lowe, an electrical line worker, his pregnant wife, Frida, and their two sons, Flip and Lucas, prepare for the worst. When the boys go missing just before the hurricane hits, Kirby heads out into the high winds in search of his children. Left alone, Frida goes into premature labor and gives birth to an unusual child, Wanda, whom she names after the catastrophic storm that ushers her into a society closer to collapse than ever before.
As Florida continues to unravel, Wanda grows. Moving...
sortTitle
Light Pirate
crossRefId
8796209
publisher
Hachette Audio
bisacCodes
      • code: FIC002000
      • description: Fiction / Action & Adventure
      • code: FIC019000
      • description: Fiction / Literary
      • code: FIC077000
      • description: Fiction / Nature & the Environment