We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Murder Comes Calling
(Adobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD. 2015
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

When four murders take place in a secluded English community, Scottish barrister Rex Graves is called on by an old friend to lend his investigatory expertise. The authorities suspect a shady house agent, but letters written in blood on the bodies tip Rex off to a different kind of killer.

Digging into the past, Rex discovers that the victims were not who they appeared to be. For the first time, he’s not up against a lone operator. With his fiancée away on a cruise, Rex must race to solve the murder before she catches him indulging his forbidden crime-solving hobby . . . or before he becomes the latest victim.

Praise:

“Satisfying . . . Smooth prose will keep cozy fans turning the pages.”—PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“Nicely mixes procedural detail and village charm and will appeal to fans of Deborah Crombie and Anne Cleeland.”—BOOKLIST

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
08/01/2015
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780738745855
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

C.S. Challinor. (2015). Murder Comes Calling. Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

C.S. Challinor. 2015. Murder Comes Calling. Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

C.S. Challinor, Murder Comes Calling. Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

C.S. Challinor. Murder Comes Calling. Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD, 2015.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b430a5cb-c169-ebef-1cd8-90700aa76e68
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 17:27:09
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 17:27:09
Last Metadata Check:
Dec 05, 2021 08:33:48
Last Metadata Change:
Nov 07, 2021 09:05:31
Last Availability Check:
Dec 05, 2021 08:33:51
Last Availability Change:
Apr 19, 2021 21:57:35
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Dec 06, 2021 02:08:40

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2146-1/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2146-1/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2146-1/851/669/4E/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2146-1/851/669/4E/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780738745855
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B011J5Y5TQ
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780738745855
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: C.S. Challinor
title
Murder Comes Calling
dateAdded
2017-01-12T17:40:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=2308716
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151
sortTitle
Murder Comes Calling
crossRefId
2308716
series
Rex Graves Mystery
id
8516694e-859d-46a4-aac9-bc5509f5d5fb
starRating
3.9

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: MurderComesCalling9780738745855
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1731514
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780738745855
      • rights:
            • type: CopyingTimesPerDays
            • value: 30
            • type: PrintingTimesPerDays
            • value: 30
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 08/08/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=8516694e-859d-46a4-aac9-bc5509f5d5fb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: MurderComesCalling9780738745855
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1731362
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780738745855
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 08/08/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=8516694e-859d-46a4-aac9-bc5509f5d5fb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: Traditional British
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Challinor, C.S.
      • bioText:

        C.S. Challinor (Florida) was educated in England and Scotland, and has traveled extensively. Her short stories have been published in women's magazines in the United States and the United Kingdom.

      • name: C.S. Challinor
imprint
Midnight Ink
publishDate
2015-08-01T00:00:00-04:00
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Murder Comes Calling
fullDescription

When four murders take place in a secluded English community, Scottish barrister Rex Graves is called on by an old friend to lend his investigatory expertise. The authorities suspect a shady house agent, but letters written in blood on the bodies tip Rex off to a different kind of killer.

Digging into the past, Rex discovers that the victims were not who they appeared to be. For the first time, he’s not up against a lone operator. With his fiancée away on a cruise, Rex must race to solve the murder before she catches him indulging his forbidden crime-solving hobby . . . or before he becomes the latest victim.

Praise:

“Satisfying . . . Smooth prose will keep cozy fans turning the pages.”—PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“Nicely mixes procedural detail and village charm and will appeal to fans of Deborah Crombie and Anne Cleeland.”—BOOKLIST

reviews
      • premium: True
      • source: Publisher's Weekly
      • content:

        June 15, 2015
        In Challinor’s satisfying eighth Rex Graves mystery (after 2014’s Murder at Midnight), the Scottish barrister travels to quiet Notting Hamlet, Bedfordshire, at the request his widowed friend, Malcolm Patterson, a bumbling retired medical pathologist who in a panic tampered with evidence related to four unsolved murders. When a neighbor found the eldest victim, Ernest Blackwell, garroted with piano wire, his neck nearly severed, she alerted Malcolm, who proceeded to wipe off the letters smeared in blood on Blackwell’s forehead. For now the only suspect is the house agent who represented all four victims in the midst of selling their properties. Malcolm fears that he’ll fall under suspicion next if Rex doesn’t help him solve the mysterious rash of murders. An intuitive sleuth, Rex befriends the locals in his effort to find the crucial connection among the deceased. Smooth prose will keep cozy fans turning the pages.

popularity
40
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BWwAAAA2I/products/8516694e-859d-46a4-aac9-bc5509f5d5fb/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
8516694e-859d-46a4-aac9-bc5509f5d5fb
starRating
3.8
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2146-1/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2146-1/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2146-1/851/669/4E/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2146-1/851/669/4E/{8516694E-859D-46A4-AAC9-BC5509F5D5FB}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Mystery
publishDateText
08/01/2015
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

When four murders take place in a secluded English community, Scottish barrister Rex Graves is called on by an old friend to lend his investigatory expertise. The authorities suspect a shady house agent, but letters written in blood on the bodies tip Rex off to a different kind of killer.

Digging into the past, Rex discovers that the victims were not who they appeared to be. For the first time, he’s not up against a lone operator. With his fiancée away on a cruise, Rex must race to solve the murder before she catches him indulging his forbidden crime-solving hobby . . . or before he becomes the latest victim.

Praise:

“Satisfying . . . Smooth prose will keep cozy fans turning the pages.”—PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“Nicely mixes procedural detail and village charm and will appeal to fans of Deborah Crombie and Anne Cleeland.”—BOOKLIST

sortTitle
Murder Comes Calling
crossRefId
2308716
series
Rex Graves Mystery
publisher
Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD.