Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Hawthorne Books 2013
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.
Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
08/19/2013
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780986000775
ASIN:
B00CGNRVC4
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Poe Ballantine. (2013). Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir. Hawthorne Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Poe Ballantine. 2013. Love and Terror On the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir. Hawthorne Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Poe Ballantine, Love and Terror On the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir. Hawthorne Books, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Poe Ballantine. Love and Terror On the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir. Hawthorne Books, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a728f45e-e11b-7248-c3b0-bf5c96ab798f
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 16:02:30
Date Updated:
Dec 06, 2020 02:42:09
Last Metadata Check:
Apr 18, 2021 06:50:01
Last Metadata Change:
Jun 06, 2020 16:08:37
Last Availability Check:
Apr 18, 2021 06:50:03
Last Availability Change:
Jul 16, 2020 19:53:32
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Apr 22, 2021 02:27:53

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/6852-1/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/6852-1/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/6852-1/36F/7FD/B5/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/6852-1/36F/7FD/B5/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780986000775
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00CGNRVC4
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780986000775
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Poe Ballantine
title
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere
dateAdded
2018-02-16T17:49:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=1304183
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151
sortTitle
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere A Memoir
crossRefId
1304183
subtitle
A Memoir
id
36f7fdb5-7543-423e-9f8e-63f1e7495e47
starRating
4

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/6852-1/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/6852-1/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/6852-1/36F/7FD/B5/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/6852-1/36F/7FD/B5/{36F7FDB5-7543-423E-9F8E-63F1E7495E47}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: LoveandTerrorontheHowlingPlainsofNowh9780986000775
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 559242
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780986000775
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 08/19/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/love-and-terror?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: LoveandTerrorontheHowlingPlainsofNowh9780986000775
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00CGNRVC4
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 08/19/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/love-and-terror?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: LoveandTerrorontheHowlingPlainsofNowh9780986000775
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780986000775
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 08/19/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/love-and-terror?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
keywords
      • value: True Crime
      • value: small town crime
      • value: Nebraska author
      • value: colorado author
      • value: 501 minutes to christ
      • value: author from colorado
      • value: book about crime
      • value: book about small town murder
      • value: collecton of personal essays
      • value: decline of the lawrence welk empire
      • value: god clobbers us all
      • value: love and terror on the howling plains of nnowhere
      • value: nebraska writer
      • value: po balantine
      • value: po ballentine
      • value: poe bellentine
      • value: poe vallentine
      • value: poeballantine
      • value: things i like about america
      • value: whirlaway
      • value: book about college murder
      • value: book about true crime
      • value: book about true murder
      • value: rural crime
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Ballantine, Poe
      • name: Poe Ballantine
      • role: Author of introduction, etc.
      • fileAs: Strayed, Cheryl
      • name: Cheryl Strayed
subjects
      • value: Biography & Autobiography
      • value: True Crime
      • value: Nonfiction
publishDate
2013-08-19T00:00:00-04:00
publishDateText
08/19/2013
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.

For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff,...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere
fullDescription
Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.

For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.
sortTitle
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere A Memoir
crossRefId
1304183
subtitle
A Memoir
popularity
57
publisher
Hawthorne Books
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BWwAAAA2I/products/36f7fdb5-7543-423e-9f8e-63f1e7495e47/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
36f7fdb5-7543-423e-9f8e-63f1e7495e47
starRating
4