We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Girl in the Blue Coat
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Published:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 2016
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG+ - BL: 4.9 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
720L
Status:
Checked Out
Description
This bestselling and award-winning novel about a teenage girl in Nazi-occupied Amsterdam speaks powerfully to the realities of grief, heartbreak, and bravery, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys.
Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.
On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person—a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.
Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about courage, grief, and love in impossible times.
Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
04/05/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780316392730, 9780316260640
ASIN:
B013CATTRE
Accelerated Reader:
MG+
Level 4.9, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
720
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Monica Hesse. (2016). Girl in the Blue Coat. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Monica Hesse. 2016. Girl in the Blue Coat. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Monica Hesse, Girl in the Blue Coat. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Monica Hesse. Girl in the Blue Coat. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b42efd59-d9f8-871b-2709-4f9d986aaaa1
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
Yes
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 18:17:38
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 18:17:38
Last Metadata Check:
Apr 13, 2024 14:35:22
Last Metadata Change:
Apr 07, 2024 15:14:25
Last Availability Check:
Apr 13, 2024 14:35:25
Last Availability Change:
Apr 06, 2024 23:11:31
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Apr 14, 2024 03:24:01

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Girl in the Blue Coat
crossRefId
2335587
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0017-1/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0017-1/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0017-1/2F8/CCE/14/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0017-1/2F8/CCE/14/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316392730
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B013CATTRE
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316392730
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316392730
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Monica Hesse
id
2f8cce14-1096-4bc6-a0fb-7281084b8bcb
title
Girl in the Blue Coat
starRating
4.2
dateAdded
2016-04-21T17:28:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=2335587
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG+
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: GirlintheBlueCoat_9780316260640_2335587
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 6188493
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316260640
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 4/5/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2f8cce14-1096-4bc6-a0fb-7281084b8bcb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: GirlintheBlueCoat_9780316392730_2335587
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316392730
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B013CATTRE
      • name: Kindle Book
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 4/5/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2f8cce14-1096-4bc6-a0fb-7281084b8bcb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: GirlintheBlueCoat_9780316260640_2335587
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1639408
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316260640
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 4/5/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2f8cce14-1096-4bc6-a0fb-7281084b8bcb&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Hesse, Monica
      • bioText: Monica Hesse is the bestselling author of Girl in the Blue Coat and American Fire, as well as a journalist with The Washington Post. She lives outside Washington, D.C. with her husband and their dog.
      • name: Monica Hesse
publishDate
2016-04-05T00:00:00-04:00
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Girl in the Blue Coat
fullDescription
This bestselling and award-winning novel about a teenage girl in Nazi-occupied Amsterdam speaks powerfully to the realities of grief, heartbreak, and bravery, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys.
Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.
On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person—a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.
Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about courage, grief, and love in impossible times.
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
2675
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/2f8cce14-1096-4bc6-a0fb-7281084b8bcb/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
2f8cce14-1096-4bc6-a0fb-7281084b8bcb
starRating
4.2
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0017-1/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0017-1/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0017-1/2F8/CCE/14/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0017-1/2F8/CCE/14/{2F8CCE14-1096-4BC6-A0FB-7281084B8BCB}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Suspense
      • value: Thriller
      • value: Historical Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
publishDateText
04/05/2016
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780316260602
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
This bestselling and award-winning novel about a teenage girl in Nazi-occupied Amsterdam speaks powerfully to the realities of grief, heartbreak, and bravery, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys.
Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.
On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person—a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately...
sortTitle
Girl in the Blue Coat
lexileScore
720
crossRefId
2335587
awards
      • source: Mystery Writers of America
      • value: Edgar Allan Poe Award
publisher
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
atos
4.9
bisacCodes
      • code: YAF024070
      • description: Young Adult Fiction / Historical / Holocaust
      • code: YAF042000
      • description: Young Adult Fiction / Mysteries & Detective Stories
      • code: YAF062000
      • description: Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense