We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Irish Girl
(eBook)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

NoveList Series:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : HarperCollins, 2016.
Content Description:
1 online resource (536 pages)
Status:

Description

Ireland. The early twentieth century. Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war. Read their story - and seewhy JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland - the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love... Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight - and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland - perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. Previously published as The Girl in the Castle

Also in This Series

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062456878, 0062456873

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Description
Ireland. The early twentieth century. Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war. Read their story - and seewhy JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland - the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love... Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight - and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland - perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. Previously published as The Girl in the Castle
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Montefiore, S. (2016). The Irish Girl. [United States], HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Montefiore, Santa. 2016. The Irish Girl. [United States], HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Montefiore, Santa, The Irish Girl. [United States], HarperCollins, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Montefiore, Santa. The Irish Girl. [United States], HarperCollins, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
4bba9f32-5038-b125-e0d8-cd421998036f
Go To Grouped Work

Hoopla Extract Information

Extract Information was matched by id in access url instead of record id.
hooplaId16672501
titleThe Irish Girl
kindEBOOK
price2.7
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedApr 27, 2024 12:23:31 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeApr 02, 2024 02:44:45 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 20, 2024 03:13:49 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02984nam a22004095a 4500
001MWT16674030
003MWT
00520240305065549.1
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008240305s2016    xxu    eo     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062456878 |q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062456873 |q (electronic bk.)
02842 |a MWT16674030
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/opr_9780062456878_180.jpeg
037 |a 16674030 |b Midwest Tape, LLC |n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest |e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Montefiore, Santa, |e author.
24514 |a The Irish Girl |h [electronic resource] / |c Santa Montefiore.
2641 |a [United States] : |b HarperCollins, |c 2016.
2642 |b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (536 pages)
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a computer |b c |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |b cr |2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file |2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
520 |a Ireland. The early twentieth century. Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war. Read their story - and seewhy JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland - the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love... Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight - and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland - perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. Previously published as The Girl in the Castle
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
6500 |a History |v Fiction.
6500 |a Electronic books.
6557 |a Historical fiction. |2 lcgft
6557 |a Romance fiction. |2 lcgft
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640 |u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/16672501?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435 |z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642 |z Cover image |u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/opr_9780062456878_180.jpeg