We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Mika in Real Life: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : William Morrow, 2022.
Content Description:
1 online resource (384 pages)
Status:
Description

In this brilliant new novel by from Emiko Jean, the author of the New York Times bestselling young adult novel Tokyo Ever After, comes a whip-smart, laugh-out-loud funny, and utterly heartwarming novel about motherhood, daughterhood, and love-how we find it, keep it, and how it always returns. One phone call changes everything. At thirty-five, Mika Suzuki's life is a mess. Her last relationship ended in flames. Her roommate-slash-best friend might be a hoarder. She's a perpetual disappointment to her traditional Japanese parents. And, most recently, she's been fired from her latest dead-end job. Mika is at her lowest point when she receives a phone call from Penny-the daughter she placed for adoption sixteen years ago. Penny is determined to forge a relationship with her birth mother, and in turn, Mika longs to be someone Penny is proud of. Faced with her own inadequacies, Mika embellishes a fact about her life. What starts as a tiny white lie slowly snowballs into a fully-fledged fake life, one where Mika is mature, put-together, and successful in love and her career. The details of Mika's life might be an illusion, but everything she shares with curious, headstrong Penny is real: her hopes, dreams, flaws, and Japanese heritage. The harder-won heart belongs to Thomas Calvin, Penny's adoptive widower father. What starts as a rocky, contentious relationship slowly blossoms into a friendship and, over time, something more. But can Mika really have it all-love, her daughter, the life she's always wanted? Or, will Mika's deceptions ultimately catch up to her? In the end, Mika must face the truth-about herself, her family, and her past-and answer the question, just who is Mika in real life? Perfect for fans of Kiley Reid's Such a Fun Age, Gayle Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, and Rebecca Serle's In Five Years, Mika in Real Life is at once, a heart-wrenching and uplifting novel that explores the weight of silence, the secrets we keep, and what it means to be a mother.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780063215702, 0063215705

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Description
In this brilliant new novel by from Emiko Jean, the author of the New York Times bestselling young adult novel Tokyo Ever After, comes a whip-smart, laugh-out-loud funny, and utterly heartwarming novel about motherhood, daughterhood, and love-how we find it, keep it, and how it always returns. One phone call changes everything. At thirty-five, Mika Suzuki's life is a mess. Her last relationship ended in flames. Her roommate-slash-best friend might be a hoarder. She's a perpetual disappointment to her traditional Japanese parents. And, most recently, she's been fired from her latest dead-end job. Mika is at her lowest point when she receives a phone call from Penny-the daughter she placed for adoption sixteen years ago. Penny is determined to forge a relationship with her birth mother, and in turn, Mika longs to be someone Penny is proud of. Faced with her own inadequacies, Mika embellishes a fact about her life. What starts as a tiny white lie slowly snowballs into a fully-fledged fake life, one where Mika is mature, put-together, and successful in love and her career. The details of Mika's life might be an illusion, but everything she shares with curious, headstrong Penny is real: her hopes, dreams, flaws, and Japanese heritage. The harder-won heart belongs to Thomas Calvin, Penny's adoptive widower father. What starts as a rocky, contentious relationship slowly blossoms into a friendship and, over time, something more. But can Mika really have it all-love, her daughter, the life she's always wanted? Or, will Mika's deceptions ultimately catch up to her? In the end, Mika must face the truth-about herself, her family, and her past-and answer the question, just who is Mika in real life? Perfect for fans of Kiley Reid's Such a Fun Age, Gayle Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, and Rebecca Serle's In Five Years, Mika in Real Life is at once, a heart-wrenching and uplifting novel that explores the weight of silence, the secrets we keep, and what it means to be a mother.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jean, E. (2022). Mika in Real Life: A Novel. [United States], William Morrow.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jean, Emiko. 2022. Mika in Real Life: A Novel. [United States], William Morrow.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jean, Emiko, Mika in Real Life: A Novel. [United States], William Morrow, 2022.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jean, Emiko. Mika in Real Life: A Novel. [United States], William Morrow, 2022.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b383b6fa-2927-ad16-e084-b2f293327e05
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

Extract Information was matched by id in access url instead of record id.
hooplaId14680076
titleMika in Real Life
kindEBOOK
price3.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 28, 2023 12:07:54 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 05:29:24 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 28, 2024 02:13:22 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03378nam a22003735a 4500
001MWT15722537
003MWT
00520231028021940.1
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008231028s2022    xxu    eo     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780063215702|q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0063215705|q (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT15722537
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780063215702_180.jpeg
037 |a 15722537|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Jean, Emiko,|e author.
24510|a Mika in Real Life :|b A Novel|h [electronic resource] /|c Emiko Jean.
264 1|a [United States] :|b William Morrow,|c 2022.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (384 pages)
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
520 |a In this brilliant new novel by from Emiko Jean, the author of the New York Times bestselling young adult novel Tokyo Ever After, comes a whip-smart, laugh-out-loud funny, and utterly heartwarming novel about motherhood, daughterhood, and love-how we find it, keep it, and how it always returns. One phone call changes everything. At thirty-five, Mika Suzuki's life is a mess. Her last relationship ended in flames. Her roommate-slash-best friend might be a hoarder. She's a perpetual disappointment to her traditional Japanese parents. And, most recently, she's been fired from her latest dead-end job. Mika is at her lowest point when she receives a phone call from Penny-the daughter she placed for adoption sixteen years ago. Penny is determined to forge a relationship with her birth mother, and in turn, Mika longs to be someone Penny is proud of. Faced with her own inadequacies, Mika embellishes a fact about her life. What starts as a tiny white lie slowly snowballs into a fully-fledged fake life, one where Mika is mature, put-together, and successful in love and her career. The details of Mika's life might be an illusion, but everything she shares with curious, headstrong Penny is real: her hopes, dreams, flaws, and Japanese heritage. The harder-won heart belongs to Thomas Calvin, Penny's adoptive widower father. What starts as a rocky, contentious relationship slowly blossoms into a friendship and, over time, something more. But can Mika really have it all-love, her daughter, the life she's always wanted? Or, will Mika's deceptions ultimately catch up to her? In the end, Mika must face the truth-about herself, her family, and her past-and answer the question, just who is Mika in real life? Perfect for fans of Kiley Reid's Such a Fun Age, Gayle Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, and Rebecca Serle's In Five Years, Mika in Real Life is at once, a heart-wrenching and uplifting novel that explores the weight of silence, the secrets we keep, and what it means to be a mother.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14680076?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780063215702_180.jpeg