We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

An Old, Cold Grave
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
NoveList Series:
Series:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : TouchWood Editions, 2021.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 57 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

The third book in the popular Lane Winslow mystery series by an author the Globe and Mail has called a "writer to watch." It's early spring of 1947 in idyllic King's Cove, and the Hughes ladies, mère et filles, are gardening and sorting through the jars of food that have been put up for the winter. But while cleaning up after the roof of their root cellar has caved in slightly, they are horrified to discover a small skeletal hand embedded in the mess. Panicked, they call Lane Winslow, the ex-British secret service agent, and, not without some misgivings about the state of their tense relationship, Lane calls Inspector Darling. Before long the police crew discover the body of a young child buried almost 40 years before. Who is the child, and why has it not been buried in the local cemetery? Inspector Darling, already busy dealing with a teenage girl who has gone on a destructive rampage at a local mill, asks Lane for help in unearthing the long-forgotten secrets of the early life of the tiny town, and the identity of the long-forgotten child. This delightful new historical mystery series will appeal to fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781771513722, 1771513721

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Marilla Wex.
Description
The third book in the popular Lane Winslow mystery series by an author the Globe and Mail has called a "writer to watch." It's early spring of 1947 in idyllic King's Cove, and the Hughes ladies, mère et filles, are gardening and sorting through the jars of food that have been put up for the winter. But while cleaning up after the roof of their root cellar has caved in slightly, they are horrified to discover a small skeletal hand embedded in the mess. Panicked, they call Lane Winslow, the ex-British secret service agent, and, not without some misgivings about the state of their tense relationship, Lane calls Inspector Darling. Before long the police crew discover the body of a young child buried almost 40 years before. Who is the child, and why has it not been buried in the local cemetery? Inspector Darling, already busy dealing with a teenage girl who has gone on a destructive rampage at a local mill, asks Lane for help in unearthing the long-forgotten secrets of the early life of the tiny town, and the identity of the long-forgotten child. This delightful new historical mystery series will appeal to fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Whishaw, I., & Wex, M. (2021). An Old, Cold Grave. Unabridged. [United States], TouchWood Editions.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Whishaw, Iona and Marilla, Wex. 2021. An Old, Cold Grave. [United States], TouchWood Editions.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Whishaw, Iona and Marilla, Wex, An Old, Cold Grave. [United States], TouchWood Editions, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Whishaw, Iona, and Marilla Wex. An Old, Cold Grave. Unabridged. [United States], TouchWood Editions, 2021.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
d927488e-c9c8-93b3-f831-fa1afdaa7568
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId14047806
titleAn Old, Cold Grave
kindAUDIOBOOK
price1.75
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedMay 01, 2022 12:45:26 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 02:45:26 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 24, 2024 02:15:05 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02987nim a22004815a 4500
001MWT14047806
003MWT
00520231027093934.1
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008231027o2021    xxunnn eo      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781771513722|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1771513721|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT14047806
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/ecw_9781771513722_180.jpeg
037 |a 14047806|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Whishaw, Iona,|e author.
24513|a An Old, Cold Grave|h [electronic resource] /|c Iona Whishaw.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b TouchWood Editions,|c 2021.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 57 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
4900 |a Lane Winslow ;|v bk. 3
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
5111 |a Read by Marilla Wex.
520 |a The third book in the popular Lane Winslow mystery series by an author the Globe and Mail has called a "writer to watch." It's early spring of 1947 in idyllic King's Cove, and the Hughes ladies, mère et filles, are gardening and sorting through the jars of food that have been put up for the winter. But while cleaning up after the roof of their root cellar has caved in slightly, they are horrified to discover a small skeletal hand embedded in the mess. Panicked, they call Lane Winslow, the ex-British secret service agent, and, not without some misgivings about the state of their tense relationship, Lane calls Inspector Darling. Before long the police crew discover the body of a young child buried almost 40 years before. Who is the child, and why has it not been buried in the local cemetery? Inspector Darling, already busy dealing with a teenage girl who has gone on a destructive rampage at a local mill, asks Lane for help in unearthing the long-forgotten secrets of the early life of the tiny town, and the identity of the long-forgotten child. This delightful new historical mystery series will appeal to fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Women|v Fiction.
655 7|a Detective and mystery fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft
7001 |a Wex, Marilla,|e reader.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
8001 |a Whishaw, Iona|t Lane Winslow.|s Spoken word ;|v bk. 3
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14047806?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/ecw_9781771513722_180.jpeg