Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The stolen child: a novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
[United States] : Harper Collins Publishers, 2017.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Description

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships-perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to-until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities-or perhaps because of them-Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062492203 (electronic bk.), 0062492209 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships-perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to-until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities-or perhaps because of them-Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Carey, L. (2017). The stolen child: a novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa. 2017. The Stolen Child: A Novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa, The Stolen Child: A Novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa. The Stolen Child: A Novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
953e8afc-fe97-2a01-a611-954e0f03cd82
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12458361
titleThe Stolen Child
kindEBOOK
price2.69
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedMay 29, 2020 12:20:10 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 02, 2020 12:52:27 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 07, 2021 03:12:14 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03569nam a22004935a 4500
001MWT12458361
003MWT
00520190928070001.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008190906s2017    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062492203 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062492209 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT12458361
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062492203_180.jpeg
037 |a 12458361|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08200|a 813/.54|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Carey, Lisa,|e author.
24514|a The stolen child :|b a novel|h [electronic resource] /|c Lisa Carey.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Harper Collins Publishers,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships-perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to-until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities-or perhaps because of them-Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Americans|z Ireland|v Fiction.
650 0|a Inheritance and succession|v Fiction.
650 0|a Sisters|v Fiction.
650 0|a Superstition|v Fiction.
650 0|a Magic|v Fiction.
650 0|a Islands|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
651 0|a Ireland|x Social life and customs|y 20th century|v Fiction.
650 1|a Sisters|v Fiction.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 gsafd
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12458361?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062492203_180.jpeg