Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

American Street
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : HarperCollins Publishers, 2017.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 4.4 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 690L
Status:
Description

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062473066 (electronic bk.), 0062473069 (electronic bk.)
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.4, 11 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
690

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Zoboi, I. A. (2017). American Street. [United States]: HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Zoboi, Ibi Aanu. 2017. American Street. [United States]: HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Zoboi, Ibi Aanu, American Street. [United States]: HarperCollins Publishers, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Zoboi, Ibi Aanu. American Street. [United States]: HarperCollins Publishers, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
bbf5dbb0-9be4-7cee-e65b-0fe2ca03e0af
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12458345
titleAmerican Street
kindEBOOK
price2.04
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedOct 10, 2020 12:34:17 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:45:54 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 09, 2021 05:00:18 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02995nam a22005655a 4500
001MWT12458345
003MWT
00520191127102834.1
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008190906s2017    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062473066 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062473069 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT12458345
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062473066_180.jpeg
037 |a 12458345|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Zoboi, Ibi Aanu,|e author.
24510|a American Street|h [electronic resource] /|c Ibi Zoboi.
264 1|a [United States] :|b HarperCollins Publishers,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Haitians|z United States|v Fiction.
650 0|a Immigrants|z United States|v Fiction.
650 0|a Vodou|v Fiction.
650 0|a Immigrants|v Fiction.
650 0|a Interpersonal relations|v Fiction.
650 0|a Schools|v Fiction.
650 0|a Cousins|v Fiction.
650 0|a Mothers and daughters|v Fiction.
650 1|a Immigrants|v Fiction.
650 1|a Haitians|z United States|v Fiction.
650 1|a Mothers and daughters|v Fiction.
650 1|a Cousins|v Fiction.
650 1|a Schools|v Fiction.
650 1|a Interpersonal relations|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
651 1|a Detroit (Mich.)|v Fiction.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12458345?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062473066_180.jpeg