We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Southern Cross the Dog
(eBook)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Author:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : HarperCollins Publishers, 2013.
Content Description:
1 online resource (336 pages)
Status:

Description

In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng's Southern Cross the Dog is an epic literary debut in which the bonds between three childhood friends are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927. In its aftermath, one young man must choose between the lure of the future and the claims of the past. Having lost virtually everything in the fearsome storm-home, family, first love-Robert Chatham embarks on an odyssey that takes him through the deep South, from the desperation of a refugee camp to the fiery and raucous brothel Hotel Beau-Miel and into the Mississippi hinterland, where he joins a crew hired to clear the swamp and build a dam. Along his journey he encounters piano-playing hustlers, ne'er-do-well Klansmen, well-intentioned whores, and a family of fur trappers, the L'Etangs, whose very existence is threatened by the swamp-clearing around them. The L'Etang brothers are fierce and wild but there is something soft about their cousin Frankie, possibly the only woman capable of penetrating Robert's darkest places and overturning his conviction that he's marked by the devil. Teeming with language that renders both the savage beauty and complex humanity of our shared past, Southern Cross the Dog is a tour de force that heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction.

Also in This Series

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062225030, 0062225030

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Description
In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng's Southern Cross the Dog is an epic literary debut in which the bonds between three childhood friends are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927. In its aftermath, one young man must choose between the lure of the future and the claims of the past. Having lost virtually everything in the fearsome storm-home, family, first love-Robert Chatham embarks on an odyssey that takes him through the deep South, from the desperation of a refugee camp to the fiery and raucous brothel Hotel Beau-Miel and into the Mississippi hinterland, where he joins a crew hired to clear the swamp and build a dam. Along his journey he encounters piano-playing hustlers, ne'er-do-well Klansmen, well-intentioned whores, and a family of fur trappers, the L'Etangs, whose very existence is threatened by the swamp-clearing around them. The L'Etang brothers are fierce and wild but there is something soft about their cousin Frankie, possibly the only woman capable of penetrating Robert's darkest places and overturning his conviction that he's marked by the devil. Teeming with language that renders both the savage beauty and complex humanity of our shared past, Southern Cross the Dog is a tour de force that heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Cheng, B. (2013). Southern Cross the Dog. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Cheng, Bill. 2013. Southern Cross the Dog. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Cheng, Bill, Southern Cross the Dog. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Cheng, Bill. Southern Cross the Dog. [United States], HarperCollins Publishers, 2013.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
43298dcb-5179-45c4-f250-e0e3502521cd
Go To Grouped Work

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11919854
titleSouthern Cross the Dog
kindEBOOK
price3.34
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 28, 2023 12:07:25 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 03:58:16 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 19, 2024 02:34:19 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02689nam a22003735a 4500
001MWT11919854
003MWT
00520231027091738.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008231027s2013    xxu    eo     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062225030 |q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062225030 |q (electronic bk.)
02842 |a MWT11919854
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062225030_180.jpeg
037 |a 11919854 |b Midwest Tape, LLC |n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest |e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Cheng, Bill, |e author.
24510 |a Southern Cross the Dog |h [electronic resource] / |c Bill Cheng.
2641 |a [United States] : |b HarperCollins Publishers, |c 2013.
2642 |b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (336 pages)
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a computer |b c |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |b cr |2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file |2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
520 |a In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng's Southern Cross the Dog is an epic literary debut in which the bonds between three childhood friends are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927. In its aftermath, one young man must choose between the lure of the future and the claims of the past. Having lost virtually everything in the fearsome storm-home, family, first love-Robert Chatham embarks on an odyssey that takes him through the deep South, from the desperation of a refugee camp to the fiery and raucous brothel Hotel Beau-Miel and into the Mississippi hinterland, where he joins a crew hired to clear the swamp and build a dam. Along his journey he encounters piano-playing hustlers, ne'er-do-well Klansmen, well-intentioned whores, and a family of fur trappers, the L'Etangs, whose very existence is threatened by the swamp-clearing around them. The L'Etang brothers are fierce and wild but there is something soft about their cousin Frankie, possibly the only woman capable of penetrating Robert's darkest places and overturning his conviction that he's marked by the devil. Teeming with language that renders both the savage beauty and complex humanity of our shared past, Southern Cross the Dog is a tour de force that heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
6500 |a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640 |u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11919854?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435 |z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642 |z Cover image |u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062225030_180.jpeg