Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The Gauntlet
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
[United States] : Balzer + Bray, 2017.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 59 min.)) : digital.
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 700L
Status:
Description

Perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld and The Maze Runner, The Gauntlet is the gripping finale to the thrilling and addictive Cage series about teens abducted from Earth by an otherworldly race; from Megan Shepherd, the New York Times bestselling author of the Madman's Daughter series. Cora and her friends have escaped the Kindred station and landed at Armstrong, a supposed safe haven on a small moon, where they plan to regroup and figure out how to win the Gauntlet, the challenging competition to prove humanity's intelligence and set them free. But Armstrong is no paradise; ruled by a power-hungry sheriff, it&'s a violent world where the teens are enslaved and put to work in mines. As Nok's due date grows closer, and Mali and Leon journey across space to rescue Cassian, the former inhabitants of the cage are up against impossible odds. With the whole universe at stake, Cora will do whatever it takes, including pushing her body and mind to the breaking point, to escape Armstrong and run the Gauntlet. But it isn't just a deranged sheriff she has to overcome: the other intelligent species, the Axion, Kindred, Gatherers, and Mosca, all have their own reasons to stop her. Not knowing who to trust, Cora must rely on her own instincts to win the competition, which could change the world, though it might destroy her in the process.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062683106 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 0062683101 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
700

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Barrie Kreinik.
Description
Perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld and The Maze Runner, The Gauntlet is the gripping finale to the thrilling and addictive Cage series about teens abducted from Earth by an otherworldly race; from Megan Shepherd, the New York Times bestselling author of the Madman's Daughter series. Cora and her friends have escaped the Kindred station and landed at Armstrong, a supposed safe haven on a small moon, where they plan to regroup and figure out how to win the Gauntlet, the challenging competition to prove humanity's intelligence and set them free. But Armstrong is no paradise; ruled by a power-hungry sheriff, it&'s a violent world where the teens are enslaved and put to work in mines. As Nok's due date grows closer, and Mali and Leon journey across space to rescue Cassian, the former inhabitants of the cage are up against impossible odds. With the whole universe at stake, Cora will do whatever it takes, including pushing her body and mind to the breaking point, to escape Armstrong and run the Gauntlet. But it isn't just a deranged sheriff she has to overcome: the other intelligent species, the Axion, Kindred, Gatherers, and Mosca, all have their own reasons to stop her. Not knowing who to trust, Cora must rely on her own instincts to win the competition, which could change the world, though it might destroy her in the process.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Shepherd, M., & Kreinik, B. (2017). The Gauntlet. Unabridged. [United States]: Balzer + Bray.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Shepherd, Megan and Barrie, Kreinik. 2017. The Gauntlet. [United States]: Balzer + Bray.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Shepherd, Megan and Barrie, Kreinik, The Gauntlet. [United States]: Balzer + Bray, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Shepherd, Megan,, and Barrie Kreinik. The Gauntlet. Unabridged. [United States]: Balzer + Bray, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
54ca9b92-55d6-a193-b85d-5782568db44f
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11876841
titleThe Gauntlet
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 19, 2020 12:08:48 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeDec 03, 2020 02:55:41 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 12, 2021 02:27:02 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03204nim a22005055a 4500
001MWT11876841
003MWT
00520191125030913.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008180525s2017    xxunnn es      f  n eng d
020 |a 9780062683106 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 0062683101 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT11876841
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062683106_180.jpeg
037 |a 11876841|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Shepherd, Megan,|e author.
24514|a The Gauntlet|h [electronic resource] /|c Megan Shepherd.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Balzer + Bray,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 59 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
4901 |a Cage ;|v bk. 3
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Read by Barrie Kreinik.
520 |a Perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld and The Maze Runner, The Gauntlet is the gripping finale to the thrilling and addictive Cage series about teens abducted from Earth by an otherworldly race; from Megan Shepherd, the New York Times bestselling author of the Madman's Daughter series. Cora and her friends have escaped the Kindred station and landed at Armstrong, a supposed safe haven on a small moon, where they plan to regroup and figure out how to win the Gauntlet, the challenging competition to prove humanity's intelligence and set them free. But Armstrong is no paradise; ruled by a power-hungry sheriff, it&'s a violent world where the teens are enslaved and put to work in mines. As Nok's due date grows closer, and Mali and Leon journey across space to rescue Cassian, the former inhabitants of the cage are up against impossible odds. With the whole universe at stake, Cora will do whatever it takes, including pushing her body and mind to the breaking point, to escape Armstrong and run the Gauntlet. But it isn't just a deranged sheriff she has to overcome: the other intelligent species, the Axion, Kindred, Gatherers, and Mosca, all have their own reasons to stop her. Not knowing who to trust, Cora must rely on her own instincts to win the competition, which could change the world, though it might destroy her in the process.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Alien abduction|v Fiction.
650 0|a Survival|v Fiction.
650 0|a Telepathy|v Fiction.
650 0|a Human-alien encounters|v Fiction.
7001 |a Kreinik, Barrie,|e narrator.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
8001 |a Shepherd, Megan.|t Cage.|s Spoken word ;|v bk. 3
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11876841?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062683106_180.jpeg