We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Black Water Rising
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
NoveList Series:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : HarperAudio, 2009.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 51 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget. Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. But he's carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him. Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night he impulsively saves a woman from drowning in the bayou-and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past. With intelligent writing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780061901898, 006190189X

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Dion Graham.
Description
Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget. Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. But he's carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him. Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night he impulsively saves a woman from drowning in the bayou-and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past. With intelligent writing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Locke, A., & Graham, D. (2009). Black Water Rising. Unabridged. [United States], HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Locke, Attica and Dion, Graham. 2009. Black Water Rising. [United States], HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Locke, Attica and Dion, Graham, Black Water Rising. [United States], HarperAudio, 2009.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Locke, Attica, and Dion Graham. Black Water Rising. Unabridged. [United States], HarperAudio, 2009.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
ecb583b5-257e-4e7f-5ada-c9b1a0a3b65d
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11589201
titleBlack Water Rising
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedSep 04, 2021 12:07:15 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 02:43:27 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 29, 2024 01:09:44 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02758nim a22004815a 4500
001MWT11589201
003MWT
00520231027020140.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008231027o2009    xxunnn eo      f  n eng d
020 |a 9780061901898|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 006190189X|q (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT11589201
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780061901898_180.jpeg
037 |a 11589201|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Locke, Attica,|e author.
24510|a Black Water Rising|h [electronic resource] /|c Attica Locke.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b HarperAudio,|c 2009.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 51 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
5111 |a Read by Dion Graham.
520 |a Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget. Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. But he's carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him. Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night he impulsively saves a woman from drowning in the bayou-and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past. With intelligent writing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Crime|v Fiction.
655 7|a Detective and mystery fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Thrillers (Fiction).|2 lcgft
7001 |a Graham, Dion,|e reader.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11589201?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780061901898_180.jpeg