Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The House of Government: a saga of the Russian Revolution

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780691176949
9781538478394
9781400888177
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd01d014c-b674-e61c-0177-814e59072252
Grouping Titlehouse of government a saga of the russian revolution
Grouping Authoryuri slezkine
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-17 02:30:10AM
Last Indexed2021-09-17 03:13:13AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780691176949

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorYuri Slezkine
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displaySlezkine, Yuri
available_at_catalogElk Grove
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
detailed_location_catalogElk Grove
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
Sacramento Public Library Storage
display_description"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idd01d014c-b674-e61c-0177-814e59072252
isbn9780691176949
9781400888177
9781538478394
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:3b87daca-2eb3-43b8-b056-4aadeaae52fa-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25125394.i78529244Sacramento Public Library Storage947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
ils:.b25125394.i78366628Elk Grove947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b25125394.i76612971North Natomas947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b25125394.i78076055Orangevale947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelforaag
ils:.b25125394.i78707705North Sacramento-Hagginwood947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfnsaag
hoopla:MWT13283279Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13283279?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-09-17T10:13:13.238Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog947.0841 S632 2017
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogElk Grove
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
primary_isbn9780691176949
publishDate2017
publisherBlackstone Publishing
Princeton University Press,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:3b87daca-2eb3-43b8-b056-4aadeaae52faeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2017
ils:.b25125394BookBooksEnglishPrinceton University Press, [2017]xv, 1104 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT13283279eBookeBookEnglishPrinceton University Press, 2017.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3b87daca-2eb3-43b8-b056-4aadeaae52fa-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25125394.i78529244On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i78366628On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i76612971On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i78076055On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i78707705On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT13283279Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetApartment dwellers -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Apartment houses -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- History -- 20th century
Biographies
Communists -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Dom na Naberezhnoĭ (Moscow, Russia)
Dom na Naberezhnoĭ (Moscow, Russia)
Electronic books
Moscow (Russia) -- Biography
Moscow (Russia) -- Buildings, structures, etc
Moscow (Russia) -- Politics and government -- 20th century
Political purges -- Soviet Union -- History
Soviet Union -- Politics and government -- 1936-1953
State-sponsored terrorism -- Soviet Union -- History
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
title_displayThe House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution
title_fullThe House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution / Yuri Slezkine
The House of Government A Saga of the Russian Revolution
The house of government : a saga of the Russian Revolution [electronic resource] Slezkine, Yuri, 1956-
title_shortThe House of Government
title_suba saga of the Russian Revolution
topic_facetApartment dwellers
Apartment houses
Buildings, structures, etc
Communists
Electronic books
History
Nonfiction
Political purges
Politics and government
State-sponsored terrorism
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism