We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The House of Government: a saga of the Russian Revolution

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780691176949
9781538478394
9781400888177
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd01d014c-b674-e61c-0177-814e59072252
Grouping Titlehouse of government a saga of the russian revolution
Grouping Authoryuri slezkine
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-08 02:08:34AM
Last Indexed2022-08-08 02:58:41AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Slezkine, Yuri, 1956-
author2-role
hoopla digital
author_display
Slezkine, Yuri
available_at_catalog
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalog
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description
"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
d01d014c-b674-e61c-0177-814e59072252
isbn
9780691176949
9781400888177
9781538478394
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-08T09:58:41.861Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
947.0841 S632 2017
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Orangevale
South Natomas
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn
9780691176949
publishDate
2017
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
Princeton University Press
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Apartment dwellers -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Apartment houses -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- History -- 20th century
Biographies
Communists -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Dom na Naberezhnoĭ (Moscow, Russia)
Dom na Naberezhnoĭ (Moscow, Russia)
Electronic books
Moscow (Russia) -- Biography
Moscow (Russia) -- Buildings, structures, etc
Moscow (Russia) -- Politics and government -- 20th century
Political purges -- Soviet Union -- History
Soviet Union -- Politics and government -- 1936-1953
State-sponsored terrorism -- Soviet Union -- History
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
title_display
The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution
title_full
The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution / Yuri Slezkine
The House of Government A Saga of the Russian Revolution
The house of government : a saga of the Russian Revolution [electronic resource] Slezkine, Yuri, 1956-
title_short
The House of Government
title_sub
a saga of the Russian Revolution
topic_facet
Apartment dwellers
Apartment houses
Buildings, structures, etc
Communists
Electronic books
History
Nonfiction
Political purges
Politics and government
State-sponsored terrorism
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:3b87daca-2eb3-43b8-b056-4aadeaae52fa-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25125394.i78366628Valley Hi-North Laguna947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b25125394.i78076055Orangevale947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelforaag
ils:.b25125394.i76612971North Natomas947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b25125394.i78529244South Natomas947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b25125394.i78707705North Sacramento-Hagginwood947.0841 S632 20171falsefalseOn Shelfnsaag
hoopla:MWT13283279Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13283279?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:3b87daca-2eb3-43b8-b056-4aadeaae52faeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2017
ils:.b25125394BookBooksEnglishPrinceton University Press[2017]xv, 1104 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT13283279eBookeBookEnglishPrinceton University Press20171 online resource

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3b87daca-2eb3-43b8-b056-4aadeaae52fa-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25125394.i78366628On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i78076055On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i76612971On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i78529244On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25125394.i78707705On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT13283279Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse