We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The House of Government: a saga of the Russian Revolution
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Princeton : Princeton University Press, [2017].
Physical Desc:
xv, 1104 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
Status:
Elk Grove
947.0841 S632 2017
Franklin
947.0841 S632 2017
North Natomas
947.0841 S632 2017
Description

"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Elk Grove
947.0841 S632 2017
On Shelf
Fair Oaks
947.0841 S632 2017
Due Dec 15, 2023
Franklin
947.0841 S632 2017
On Shelf
North Natomas
947.0841 S632 2017
On Shelf
Rancho Cordova
947.0841 S632 2017
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780691176949, 0691176949

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages [995]-1081) and index.
Description
"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Slezkine, Y. (2017). The House of Government: a saga of the Russian Revolution. Princeton, Princeton University Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Slezkine, Yuri, 1956-. 2017. The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution. Princeton, Princeton University Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Slezkine, Yuri, 1956-, The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution. Princeton, Princeton University Press, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Slezkine, Yuri. The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution. Princeton, Princeton University Press, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
d01d014c-b674-e61c-0177-814e59072252
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeNov 24, 2023 01:25:42 PM
Last File Modification TimeNov 24, 2023 01:25:55 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 05, 2023 02:08:42 AM

MARC Record

LEADER05182cam 2200553 i 4500
001ocn987591300
003OCoLC
00520180502104125.0
008170519s2017    njuab    b    001 0deng  
010 |a 2016049071
020 |a 9780691176949
020 |a 0691176949
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d OCLCO|d BDX|d OCLCF|d FM0|d UAP|d YDX|d ZHB|d YDX|d OCLCO|d VA@|d NZD|d UII|d VP@
042 |a pcc
043 |a e-ru---|a e-ur---
049 |a JRSA
05000|a DK601|b .S57 2017
066 |c Zsym
08200|a 947.084/10922|2 23
099 |a 947.0841 S632 2017
1001 |a Slezkine, Yuri,|d 1956-|e author.
24514|a The House of Government :|b a saga of the Russian Revolution /|c Yuri Slezkine.
264 1|a Princeton :|b Princeton University Press,|c [2017]
300 |a xv, 1104 pages :|b illustrations, maps ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (pages [995]-1081) and index.
5050 |a Book one. En route -- Part I. Anticipation -- The swamp -- The preachers -- The faith -- Part II. Fulfillment -- The real day -- The last battle -- The new city -- The great disappointment -- The party line -- Book two. At home -- Part III. The second coming -- The eternal house -- The new tenants -- The economic foundations -- The virgin lands -- The ideological substance -- Part IV. The reign of the saints -- The new life -- The days off -- The houses of rest -- The next of kin -- The center of the world -- The pettiness of existence -- The thought of death -- The happy childhood -- The new men -- Book three. On trial -- Part V. The last judgment -- The telephone call -- The admission of guilt -- The valley of the dead -- The knock on the door -- The good people -- The supreme penalty -- Part VI. The afterlife -- The end of childhood -- The persistence of happiness -- The coming of war -- The return -- The end -- Epilogue: The House on the Embankment -- Appendix: Partial list of leaseholders.
5202 |a "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
61020|a Dom na Naberezhnoń≠ (Moscow, Russia)
650 0|a Communists|z Russia (Federation)|z Moscow|v Biography.
650 0|a Apartment dwellers|z Russia (Federation)|z Moscow|v Biography.
650 0|a Victims of state-sponsored terrorism|z Russia (Federation)|z Moscow|v Biography.
650 0|a Apartment houses|z Russia (Federation)|z Moscow|x History|y 20th century.
650 0|a Political purges|z Soviet Union|x History.
650 0|a State-sponsored terrorism|z Soviet Union|x History.
651 0|a Moscow (Russia)|x Politics and government|y 20th century.
651 0|a Moscow (Russia)|v Biography.
651 0|a Moscow (Russia)|x Buildings, structures, etc.
651 0|a Soviet Union|x Politics and government|y 1936-1953.
655 7|a Biographies.|2 lcgft
907 |a .b25125394
945 |y .i76612971|i 33029103513495|l nntag|s -|k |u 12|x 1|w 0|v 5|t 3|z 09-11-17|o -
945 |y .i78076055|i 33029105381727|l fraag|s -|k |u 4|x 1|w 0|v 3|t 3|z 05-10-18|o -
945 |y .i78366628|i 33029105399273|l ranag|s -|k |u 4|x 1|w 0|v 3|t 3|z 06-01-18|o -
945 |y .i78529244|i 33029105350557|l elkag|s -|k |u 3|x 1|w 0|v 1|t 3|z 06-12-18|o -
945 |y .i78707705|i 33029105364947|l faiag|s -|k 12-15-23|u 4|x 2|w 1|v 3|t 3|z 06-20-18|o -
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a elk|a fai|a fra|a nnt|a ran