Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The trick: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501155826
9781501155840
9781508243120
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc7ec4292-b096-ac18-cd63-b4e19b5e8fc6
Grouping Titletrick
Grouping Authoremanuel bergmann
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-03-02 02:27:12AM
Last Indexed2021-03-02 02:55:04AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Davis, Jonathan (Narrator)
authorBergmann, Emanuel, 1972-
author2-roleDavis, Jonathan(Narrator)
hoopla digital.
author_displayBergmann, Emanuel
available_at_catalogArcade
Central
Martin Luther King Jr.
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Central
Martin Luther King, Jr.
South Natomas
display_description"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idc7ec4292-b096-ac18-cd63-b4e19b5e8fc6
isbn9781501155826
9781501155840
9781508243120
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b25008341.i7669625xSouth NatomasFICTION Bergmann, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b25008341.i76696224ArcadeFICTION Bergmann, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b25008341.i76696248Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Bergmann, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b25008341.i76696236CentralFICTION Bergmann, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:e7cfb135-9dcd-4eb9-bf65-9cd82007fdda-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12438343Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12438343?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-03-02T10:55:04.751Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Bergmann, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Central
Martin Luther King Jr.
South Natomas
primary_isbn9781501155826
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b25008341BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2017.375 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:e7cfb135-9dcd-4eb9-bf65-9cd82007fddaeBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2017
hoopla:MWT12438343eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 45 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25008341.i7669625xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25008341.i76696224On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25008341.i76696248On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25008341.i76696236On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:e7cfb135-9dcd-4eb9-bf65-9cd82007fdda-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12438343Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetBoys -- Fiction
Magicians -- Fiction
title_displayThe trick : a novel
title_fullThe Trick A Novel
The trick : a novel / Emanuel Bergmann
The trick : a novel [electronic resource] / Emanuel Bergmann
title_shortThe trick
title_suba novel
topic_facetBoys
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Magicians