We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The trick: a novel

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for The trick

Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
2017
Language:
English

Description

"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9781501155826
9781501155840
9781508243120

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc7ec4292-b096-ac18-cd63-b4e19b5e8fc6
Grouping Titletrick
Grouping Authoremanuel bergmann
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-19 02:34:19AM
Last Indexed2024-06-19 03:06:24AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Davis, Jonathan
author
Bergmann, Emanuel, 1972-
author2-role
Davis, Jonathan,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Bergmann, Emanuel
available_at_catalog
Central
Franklin
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Franklin
South Natomas
display_description
"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
c7ec4292-b096-ac18-cd63-b4e19b5e8fc6
isbn
9781501155826
9781501155840
9781508243120
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-06-19T10:06:24.379Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Bergmann, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Franklin
South Natomas
primary_isbn
9781501155826
publishDate
2017
publisher
Atria Books
Simon & Schuster Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Boys -- Fiction
Fiction
Historical fiction
Literature -- Fiction
Magicians -- Fiction
title_display
The trick : a novel
title_full
The Trick A Novel
The Trick [electronic resource] / Emanuel Bergmann
The trick : a novel / Emanuel Bergmann
title_short
The trick
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Boys
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Magicians

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b25008341.i7669625xSouth NatomasFICTION Bergmann, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b25008341.i76696236CentralFICTION Bergmann, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25008341.i76696224FranklinFICTION Bergmann, E.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
overdrive:e7cfb135-9dcd-4eb9-bf65-9cd82007fdda-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12438343Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12438343?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b25008341BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover editionEnglishAtria Books2017375 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:e7cfb135-9dcd-4eb9-bf65-9cd82007fddaeBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2017
hoopla:MWT12438343eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio20171 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 45 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25008341.i7669625xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25008341.i76696236On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25008341.i76696224On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:e7cfb135-9dcd-4eb9-bf65-9cd82007fdda-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12438343Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse