We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The trick: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Uniform Title:
Published:
New York : Atria Books, 2017.
Physical Desc:
375 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Central
FICTION Bergmann, E.
Franklin
FICTION Bergmann, E.
South Natomas
FICTION Bergmann, E.

Description

"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--

Also in This Series

Copies

Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Bergmann, E.
On Shelf
Franklin
FICTION Bergmann, E.
On Shelf
South Natomas
FICTION Bergmann, E.
On Shelf

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
Book
Edition:
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501155826

Notes

Description
"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Bergmann, E. (2017). The trick: a novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York, Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Bergmann, Emanuel, 1972-. 2017. The Trick: A Novel. New York, Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Bergmann, Emanuel, 1972-, The Trick: A Novel. New York, Atria Books, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Bergmann, Emanuel. The Trick: A Novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York, Atria Books, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
c7ec4292-b096-ac18-cd63-b4e19b5e8fc6
Go To Grouped Work

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 13, 2024 01:33:02 AM
Last File Modification TimeJul 13, 2024 01:33:19 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 17, 2024 02:10:59 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02767pam 2200397 i 4500
001  2016050065
003DLC
00520170911151133.0
008161116s2017    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016050065
020 |a 9781501155826
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d NjBwBT
0411 |a eng |h ger
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000 |a PT2702.E4628 |b T7513 2017
08200 |a 833/.92 |2 23
1001 |a Bergmann, Emanuel, |d 1972- |e author.
24010 |a Trick. |l English
24514 |a The trick : |b a novel / |c Emanuel Bergmann.
250 |a First Atria Books hardcover edition.
2641 |a New York : |b Atria Books, |c 2017.
300 |a 375 pages ; |c 24 cm
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
520 |a "Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"-- |c Provided by publisher.
6500 |a Magicians |v Fiction.
6500 |a Boys |v Fiction.
907 |a .b25008341
932 |a FICTION Bergmann, E.
945 |y .i76696224 |i 33029103542411 |l fraag |s - |k  |u 8 |x 0 |w 0 |v 10 |t 0 |z 09-25-17 |o -
945 |y .i76696236 |i 33029103542429 |l cenag |s - |k  |u 4 |x 0 |w 0 |v 0 |t 0 |z 09-25-17 |o -
945 |y .i7669625x |i 33029103542445 |l natag |s - |k  |u 0 |x 0 |w 0 |v 0 |t 0 |z 09-25-17 |o -
948 |a WDP Featured List 11/17
998 |e - |d a  |f eng |a cen |a fra |a nat