We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The poison tree

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From an incredible new voice in psychological suspense, a novel about the secrets that remain after a final bohemian summer of excess turns deadly.
This taut psychological thriller begins when Karen and her nine-year- old daughter, Alice, pick up Rex from a ten-year stint in prison for murder. Flash back to the sultry summer in 1990s London when Karen, a straight-A student on the verge of college graduation, first meets the exotic, flamboyant Biba and joins her louche life in a crumbling mansion in Highgate. She begins a relationship with Biba's enigmatic and protective older brother, Rex, and falls into a blissful rhythm of sex, alcohol, and endless summer nights. Naïvely, Karen assumes her newfound happiness will last forever. But Biba and Rex have a complicated family history-one of abandonment, suicide, and crippling guilt-and Karen's summer of freedom is about to end in blood.
When old ghosts come back to destroy the life it has taken Karen a decade to build, she has everything to lose. She will do whatever it takes to protect her family and keep her secret. Alternating between the fragile present and the lingering past with a shocker of an ending, The Poison Tree is a brilliant suspense debut that will appeal to readers of Kate Atkinson, Donna Tartt, and Tana French.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780670022403
9781470322144
9781101475393
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbd4916bc-fdd4-91be-6f2e-17bb4a322e08
Grouping Titlepoison tree
Grouping Authorerin kelly
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-04-17 02:11:40AM
Last Indexed2024-04-17 02:24:40AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Ikeda, Jennifer
author
Kelly, Erin, 1976-
author2-role
Ikeda, Jennifer,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Kelly, Erin
available_at_catalog
Central
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
display_description
From an incredible new voice in psychological suspense, a novel about the secrets that remain after a final bohemian summer of excess turns deadly.
This taut psychological thriller begins when Karen and her nine-year- old daughter, Alice, pick up Rex from a ten-year stint in prison for murder. Flash back to the sultry summer in 1990s London when Karen, a straight-A student on the verge of college graduation, first meets the exotic, flamboyant Biba and joins her louche life in a crumbling mansion in Highgate. She begins a relationship with Biba's enigmatic and protective older brother, Rex, and falls into a blissful rhythm of sex, alcohol, and endless summer nights. Naïvely, Karen assumes her newfound happiness will last forever. But Biba and Rex have a complicated family history-one of abandonment, suicide, and crippling guilt-and Karen's summer of freedom is about to end in blood.
When old ghosts come back to destroy the life it has taken Karen a decade to build, she has everything to lose. She will do whatever it takes to protect her family and keep her secret. Alternating between the fragile present and the lingering past with a shocker of an ending, The Poison Tree is a brilliant suspense debut that will appeal to readers of Kate Atkinson, Donna Tartt, and Tana French.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
bd4916bc-fdd4-91be-6f2e-17bb4a322e08
isbn
9780670022403
9781101475393
9781470322144
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-04-17T09:24:40.718Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Kelly, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
primary_isbn
9780670022403
publishDate
2011
2012
publisher
Penguin Publishing Group
Recorded Books, Inc
Viking
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Action and adventure fiction
College students -- Fiction
Crime -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Fiction
London (England) -- Fiction
Murder -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Siblings -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display
The poison tree
title_full
The Poison Tree A Novel
The Poison Tree [electronic resource] / Erin Kelly
The poison tree / Erin Kelly
title_short
The poison tree
topic_facet
College students
Crime
Family secrets
Fiction
Murder
Mystery
Siblings
Suspense
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b20366607.i62918321CentralFICTION Kelly, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b20366607.i63078843North NatomasFICTION Kelly, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
hoopla:MWT13524035Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13524035?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:d03142de-8970-4b05-82a9-ab68a86111db-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b20366607BookBooks1st American edEnglishViking2011322 p. ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT13524035eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishRecorded Books, Inc20121 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 07 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:d03142de-8970-4b05-82a9-ab68a86111dbeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2011

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20366607.i62918321On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b20366607.i63078843On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT13524035Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d03142de-8970-4b05-82a9-ab68a86111db-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse