We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The poison tree: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From an incredible new voice in psychological suspense, a novel about the secrets that remain after a final bohemian summer of excess turns deadly.
This taut psychological thriller begins when Karen and her nine-year- old daughter, Alice, pick up Rex from a ten-year stint in prison for murder. Flash back to the sultry summer in 1990s London when Karen, a straight-A student on the verge of college graduation, first meets the exotic, flamboyant Biba and joins her louche life in a crumbling mansion in Highgate. She begins a relationship with Biba's enigmatic and protective older brother, Rex, and falls into a blissful rhythm of sex, alcohol, and endless summer nights. Naïvely, Karen assumes her newfound happiness will last forever. But Biba and Rex have a complicated family history-one of abandonment, suicide, and crippling guilt-and Karen's summer of freedom is about to end in blood.
When old ghosts come back to destroy the life it has taken Karen a decade to build, she has everything to lose. She will do whatever it takes to protect her family and keep her secret. Alternating between the fragile present and the lingering past with a shocker of an ending, The Poison Tree is a brilliant suspense debut that will appeal to readers of Kate Atkinson, Donna Tartt, and Tana French.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780670022403
9781470322144
9781101475393
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbd4916bc-fdd4-91be-6f2e-17bb4a322e08
Grouping Titlepoison tree
Grouping Authorerin kelly
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-11-29 02:08:32AM
Last Indexed2021-11-29 02:56:35AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781444701036

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Ikeda, Jennifer.
authorKelly, Erin, 1976-
author2-roleIkeda, Jennifer.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayKelly, Erin
available_at_catalogCentral
Franklin
Pocket-Greenhaven
Rancho Cordova
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Franklin
Pocket-Greenhaven
Rancho Cordova
display_descriptionFrom an incredible new voice in psychological suspense, a novel about the secrets that remain after a final bohemian summer of excess turns deadly.
This taut psychological thriller begins when Karen and her nine-year- old daughter, Alice, pick up Rex from a ten-year stint in prison for murder. Flash back to the sultry summer in 1990s London when Karen, a straight-A student on the verge of college graduation, first meets the exotic, flamboyant Biba and joins her louche life in a crumbling mansion in Highgate. She begins a relationship with Biba's enigmatic and protective older brother, Rex, and falls into a blissful rhythm of sex, alcohol, and endless summer nights. Naïvely, Karen assumes her newfound happiness will last forever. But Biba and Rex have a complicated family history-one of abandonment, suicide, and crippling guilt-and Karen's summer of freedom is about to end in blood.
When old ghosts come back to destroy the life it has taken Karen a decade to build, she has everything to lose. She will do whatever it takes to protect her family and keep her secret. Alternating between the fragile present and the lingering past with a shocker of an ending, The Poison Tree is a brilliant suspense debut that will appeal to readers of Kate Atkinson, Donna Tartt, and Tana French.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idbd4916bc-fdd4-91be-6f2e-17bb4a322e08
isbn9780670022403
9781101475393
9781470322144
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20366607.i62918321CentralFICTION Kelly, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b20366607.i6291828xPocket-GreenhavenFICTION Kelly, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
ils:.b20366607.i63763503Rancho CordovaFICTION Kelly, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b20366607.i63078843FranklinFICTION Kelly, E.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
hoopla:MWT13524035Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13524035?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:d03142de-8970-4b05-82a9-ab68a86111db-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-11-29T10:56:35.579Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Kelly, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Franklin
Pocket-Greenhaven
Rancho Cordova
primary_isbn9780670022403
publishDate2011
2012
publisherPenguin Publishing Group
Recorded Books, Inc.,
Viking,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b20366607BookBooks1st American ed.EnglishViking, 2011.322 p. ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT13524035eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, Inc., 2012.1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 07 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:d03142de-8970-4b05-82a9-ab68a86111dbeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2011
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20366607.i62918321On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b20366607.i6291828xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b20366607.i63763503On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b20366607.i63078843On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT13524035Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d03142de-8970-4b05-82a9-ab68a86111db-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesRB mystery
series_with_volumeRB mystery|
subject_facetBrothers and sisters -- Fiction
College students -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
London (England) -- Fiction
Murder -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
title_displayThe poison tree
title_fullThe Poison Tree A Novel
The poison tree / Erin Kelly
The poison tree [electronic resource] / Erin Kelly
title_shortThe poison tree
title_subA Novel
topic_facetBrothers and sisters
College students
Family secrets
Fiction
Murder
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller