Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The poison tree
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Viking, 2011.
Physical Desc:
322 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Central
FICTION Kelly, E.
Franklin
FICTION Kelly, E.
Pocket-Greenhaven
FICTION Kelly, E.
Description
From an incredible new voice in psychological suspense, a novel about the secrets that remain after a final bohemian summer of excess turns deadly.
This taut psychological thriller begins when Karen and her nine-year- old daughter, Alice, pick up Rex from a ten-year stint in prison for murder. Flash back to the sultry summer in 1990s London when Karen, a straight-A student on the verge of college graduation, first meets the exotic, flamboyant Biba and joins her louche life in a crumbling mansion in Highgate. She begins a relationship with Biba's enigmatic and protective older brother, Rex, and falls into a blissful rhythm of sex, alcohol, and endless summer nights. Naïvely, Karen assumes her newfound happiness will last forever. But Biba and Rex have a complicated family history-one of abandonment, suicide, and crippling guilt-and Karen's summer of freedom is about to end in blood.
When old ghosts come back to destroy the life it has taken Karen a decade to build, she has everything to lose. She will do whatever it takes to protect her family and keep her secret. Alternating between the fragile present and the lingering past with a shocker of an ending, The Poison Tree is a brilliant suspense debut that will appeal to readers of Kate Atkinson, Donna Tartt, and Tana French.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Kelly, E.
On Shelf
Franklin
FICTION Kelly, E.
On Shelf
Pocket-Greenhaven
FICTION Kelly, E.
On Shelf
Rancho Cordova
FICTION Kelly, E.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st American ed.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780670022403 (alk. paper)

Notes

General Note
Originally published: London : Hodder & Stoughton, 2009.
General Note
"Pamela Dorman books."
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kelly, E. (2011). The poison tree. 1st American ed. New York: Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Erin, 1976-. 2011. The Poison Tree. New York: Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Erin, 1976-, The Poison Tree. New York: Viking, 2011.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Erin. The Poison Tree. 1st American ed. New York: Viking, 2011. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
bd4916bc-fdd4-91be-6f2e-17bb4a322e08
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMar 09, 2021 10:40:36 AM
Last File Modification TimeMar 09, 2021 10:47:12 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 12, 2021 02:28:46 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01436pam 2200421 a 4500
001  2010024260
00520101229051516.0
003DLC
008100614r20112009nyu           000 1 eng  
1001 |a Kelly, Erin,|d 1976-
932 |a FICTION Kelly, E.
650 0|a Family secrets|v Fiction.
650 0|a Murder|v Fiction.
650 0|a College students|v Fiction.
650 0|a Brothers and sisters|v Fiction.
651 0|a London (England)|v Fiction.
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd
655 0|a Psychological fiction.
250 |a 1st American ed.
020 |a 9780670022403 (alk. paper)
010 |a 2010024260
500 |a Originally published: London : Hodder & Stoughton, 2009.
500 |a "Pamela Dorman books."
260 |a New York :|b Viking,|c 2011.
300 |a 322 p. ;|c 24 cm.
24514|a The poison tree /|c Erin Kelly.
040 |a DLC|c DLC|d GCmBT
043 |a e-uk-en
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR6111.E498|b P65 2011
08200|a 823/.92|2 22
948 |a Featured List 02/11
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a cen|a fra|a poc|a ran
907 |a .b20366607
945 |y .i6291828x|i 33029069395747|l pocag|s -|k |u 27|x 1|w 0|v 11|t 0|z 01-07-11|o -
945 |y .i62918321|i 33029069395770|l cenag|s -|k |u 23|x 2|w 0|v 12|t 0|z 01-07-11|o -
945 |y .i63078843|i 33029072612591|l fraag|s -|k |u 18|x 0|w 0|v 2|t 0|z 01-26-11|o -
945 |y .i63763503|i 33029071143622|l ranag|s -|k |u 36|x 1|w 0|v 7|t 0|z 04-21-11|o -