We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The stolen child: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." --
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062492180
9780062669759
9780062492203
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID953e8afc-fe97-2a01-a611-954e0f03cd82
Grouping Titlestolen child
Grouping Authorlisa carey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-24 02:08:33AM
Last Indexed2022-09-24 02:44:36AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Lennon, Caroline
author
Carey, Lisa
author2-role
Lennon, Caroline,narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Carey, Lisa
available_at_catalog
Martin Luther King Jr.
detailed_location_catalog
Martin Luther King, Jr.
display_description
"From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." --
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
953e8afc-fe97-2a01-a611-954e0f03cd82
isbn
9780062492180
9780062492203
9780062669759
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-24T09:44:36.837Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Carey, L.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Martin Luther King Jr.
primary_isbn
9780062492180
publishDate
2017
publisher
Harper Perennial
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Americans -- Ireland -- Fiction
Electronic books
Heiresses -- Ireland -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Holy wells -- Ireland -- Fiction
Inheritance and succession -- Fiction
Ireland -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction
Islands -- Fiction
Islands -- Ireland -- Fiction
Magic -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
Sisters -- Ireland -- Fiction
Superstition -- Fiction
title_display
The stolen child : a novel
title_full
The Stolen Child A Novel
The stolen child : a novel / Lisa Carey
The stolen child : a novel [electronic resource] / Lisa Carey
title_short
The stolen child
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Americans
Electronic books
Fantasy
Fiction
Heiresses
Historical Fiction
Holy wells
Inheritance and succession
Islands
Literature
Magic
Sisters
Social life and customs
Superstition

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12458361Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12458361?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24840889.i75833256Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Carey, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
overdrive:fa910b53-3a97-436b-a001-92aada05b645-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11765682Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11765682?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12458361eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20171 online resource
ils:.b24840889BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarper Perennial[2017]373, 15 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:fa910b53-3a97-436b-a001-92aada05b645eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2017
hoopla:MWT11765682eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20171 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 46 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12458361Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24840889.i75833256On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:fa910b53-3a97-436b-a001-92aada05b645-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11765682Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse