Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The stolen child: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." --
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062492180
9780062669759
9780062492203
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID953e8afc-fe97-2a01-a611-954e0f03cd82
Grouping Titlestolen child
Grouping Authorlisa carey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-24 03:12:08AM
Last Indexed2021-01-24 03:36:02AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062492180

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Lennon, Caroline,
authorLisa Carey
author2-roleLennon, Caroline,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayCarey, Lisa
available_at_catalogMartin Luther King Jr.
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalogMartin Luther King, Jr.
North Highlands-Antelope
display_description"From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." --
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id953e8afc-fe97-2a01-a611-954e0f03cd82
isbn9780062492180
9780062492203
9780062669759
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12458361Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12458361?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:fa910b53-3a97-436b-a001-92aada05b645-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24840889.i75833256Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Carey, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b24840889.i75833244North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Carey, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
hoopla:MWT11765682Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11765682?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-01-24T11:36:02.18Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Carey, L.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogMartin Luther King Jr.
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn9780062492180
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12458361eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2017.1 online resource
overdrive:fa910b53-3a97-436b-a001-92aada05b645eBookeBookEnglishHarper Perennial2017
ils:.b24840889BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHarper Perennial, [2017]373, 15 pages ; 21 cm
hoopla:MWT11765682eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 47 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12458361Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:fa910b53-3a97-436b-a001-92aada05b645-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24840889.i75833256On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24840889.i75833244On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT11765682Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAmericans -- Ireland -- Fiction
Electronic books
Heiresses -- Ireland -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Holy wells -- Ireland -- Fiction
Inheritance and succession -- Fiction
Ireland -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction
Islands -- Fiction
Islands -- Ireland -- Fiction
Magic -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
Sisters -- Ireland -- Fiction
Superstition -- Fiction
title_displayThe stolen child : a novel
title_fullThe Stolen Child A Novel
The stolen child : a novel / Lisa Carey
The stolen child : a novel [electronic resource] / Lisa Carey
title_shortThe stolen child
title_suba novel
topic_facetAmericans
Electronic books
Fantasy
Fiction
Heiresses
Historical Fiction
Holy wells
Inheritance and succession
Islands
Literature
Magic
Sisters
Social life and customs
Superstition