Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Scarlet women: the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
"In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi; Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist; Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education. Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book--perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals--uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781250062635
9781466868175
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7dc65467-c147-f567-2bc2-8dfc992862a8
Grouping Titlescarlet women the scandalous lives of courtesans concubines and royal mistresses
Grouping Authorian graham
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-31 11:33:25AM
Last Indexed2020-10-31 11:35:22AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781250062635

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorIan Graham
author_displayGraham, Ian
available_at_catalogCarmichael
North Highlands-Antelope
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description"In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi; Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist; Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education. Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book--perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals--uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms"--
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id7dc65467-c147-f567-2bc2-8dfc992862a8
isbn9781250062635
9781466868175
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:a47962d6-5955-47d7-a1c7-48e37960ef34-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b23975829.i73339994Central306.742 G738 20161falsefalseDue Dec 12, 2020cenag
ils:.b23975829.i73340017Carmichael306.742 G738 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b23975829.i73340029Valley Hi-North Laguna306.742 G738 20161falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
ils:.b23975829.i73244193North Highlands-Antelope306.742 G738 20161falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-31T18:35:22.271Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog306.742 G738 2016
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9781250062635
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:a47962d6-5955-47d7-a1c7-48e37960ef34eBookeBookEnglishSt. Martin's Publishing Group2016
ils:.b23975829BookBooksFirst Edition.EnglishThomas Dunne Books, 2016.x, 294 pages ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a47962d6-5955-47d7-a1c7-48e37960ef34-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23975829.i73339994Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23975829.i73340017On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23975829.i73340029On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23975829.i73244193On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetBiographies
Courtesans -- History
Mistresses -- History
Women -- History
title_displayScarlet women : the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses
title_fullScarlet Women The Scandalous Lives of Courtesans, Concubines, and Royal Mistresses
Scarlet women : the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses / Ian Graham
title_shortScarlet women
title_subthe scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Courtesans
History
Mistresses
Nonfiction
Women
Women's Studies