Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Scarlet women: the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2016.
Physical Desc:
x, 294 pages ; 25 cm
Status:
Carmichael
306.742 G738 2016
Fair Oaks
306.742 G738 2016
Valley Hi-North Laguna
306.742 G738 2016
Description

"In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi; Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist; Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education. Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book--perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals--uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Carmichael
306.742 G738 2016
On Shelf
Central
306.742 G738 2016
Due Dec 12, 2020
Fair Oaks
306.742 G738 2016
On Shelf
Valley Hi-North Laguna
306.742 G738 2016
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250062635, 1250062632

Notes

Bibliography
Includes index and bibliography.
Description
"In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi; Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist; Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education. Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book--perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals--uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Graham, I. (2016). Scarlet women: the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses. First Edition. New York: Thomas Dunne Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Graham, Ian, 1953-. 2016. Scarlet Women: The Scandalous Lives of Courtesans, Concubines, and Royal Mistresses. New York: Thomas Dunne Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Graham, Ian, 1953-, Scarlet Women: The Scandalous Lives of Courtesans, Concubines, and Royal Mistresses. New York: Thomas Dunne Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Graham, Ian. Scarlet Women: The Scandalous Lives of Courtesans, Concubines, and Royal Mistresses. First Edition. New York: Thomas Dunne Books, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7dc65467-c147-f567-2bc2-8dfc992862a8
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeNov 21, 2020 05:35:25 PM
Last File Modification TimeNov 21, 2020 05:35:50 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 04, 2020 02:27:49 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03013nam 2200433Ii 4500
001sky278767525
00520160125090450.0
003SKY
008151016s2016    nyu    e b    001 0deng d
1001 |a Graham, Ian,|d 1953-
099 |a 306.742 G738 2016
650 0|a Courtesans|x History.
650 0|a Mistresses|x History.
650 0|a Women|x History.
655 7|a Biographies.|2 lcgft
250 |a First Edition.
020 |a 9781250062635
020 |a 1250062632
010 |a 2015037443
520 |a "In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi; Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist; Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education. Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book--perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals--uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms"--|c Provided by publisher.
504 |a Includes index and bibliography.
264 1|a New York :|b Thomas Dunne Books,|c 2016.
300 |a x, 294 pages ;|c 25 cm
336 |a text|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier.
24510|a Scarlet women :|b the scandalous lives of courtesans, concubines, and royal mistresses /|c Ian Graham.
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a HQ111|b .G73 2016
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d SKYRV
08200|a 305.409|2 23
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a car|a cen|a fai|a nsa|a val
907 |a .b23975829
945 |y .i73244193|i 33029071228803|l faiag|s -|k |u 9|x 1|w 1|v 4|t 3|z 01-21-16|o -
945 |y .i73339994|i 33029100728773|l cenag|s -|k 12-12-20|u 16|x 1|w 2|v 6|t 3|z 02-05-16|o -
945 |y .i73340005|i 33029100728781|l nsaag|s n|k 07-05-17|u 5|x 0|w 0|v 1|t 3|z 02-05-16|o -
945 |y .i73340017|i 33029100728799|l carag|s -|k |u 10|x 0|w 0|v 3|t 3|z 02-05-16|o -
945 |y .i73340029|i 33029100728807|l valag|s -|k |u 14|x 1|w 0|v 3|t 3|z 02-05-16|o -