We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The outside lands

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
"San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut. "--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID74280fbb-3286-bc54-4b42-7060a44dffcc
Grouping Titleoutside lands
Grouping Authorhannah kohler
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-10-06 02:08:35AM
Last Indexed2022-10-06 02:45:58AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Crouch, Michael
Gilbert, Tavia
author
Kohler, Hannah
author2-role
Crouch, Michaelnarrator
Gilbert, Tavia,narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Kohler, Hannah
available_at_catalog
Central
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
display_description
"San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut. "--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
74280fbb-3286-bc54-4b42-7060a44dffcc
isbn
9781250080929
9781427280534
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-10-06T09:45:58.111Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Kohler, H.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
primary_isbn
9781250080929
publishDate
2016
publisher
Macmillan Audio
St. Martin's Press
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Choice (Psychology) -- Fiction
Loyalty -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Psychological fiction
San Francisco (Calif.) -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Siblings -- Fiction
title_display
The outside lands
title_full
The outside lands / Hannah Kohler
The outside lands : a novel [electronic resource] / Hannah Kohler
title_short
The outside lands
topic_facet
Brothers and sisters
Choice (Psychology)
Loyalty
Secrecy
Siblings

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b24312745.i74502517North NatomasFICTION Kohler, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24312745.i74502505CentralFICTION Kohler, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
hoopla:MWT11983110Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11983110?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24312745BookBooksFirst editionEnglishSt. Martin's Press2016294 pages ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT11983110eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishMacmillan Audio20161 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 20 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24312745.i74502517On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24312745.i74502505On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT11983110Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse