Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The outside lands: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
"San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut. "--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID74280fbb-3286-bc54-4b42-7060a44dffcc
Grouping Titleoutside lands
Grouping Authorhannah kohler
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-27 23:07:01PM
Last Indexed2020-10-27 02:58:05AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Crouch, Michael
Gilbert, Tavia,
authorKohler, Hannah,
author2-roleCrouch, Michaelnarrator.
Gilbert, Tavia,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayKohler, Hannah
available_at_catalogCentral
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalogCentral
North Natomas
display_description"San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut. "--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id74280fbb-3286-bc54-4b42-7060a44dffcc
isbn9781250080929
9781427280534
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b24312745.i74502505CentralFICTION Kohler, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24312745.i74502517North NatomasFICTION Kohler, H.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
hoopla:MWT11983110Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11983110?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-27T09:58:05.47Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Kohler, H.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
North Natomas
primary_isbn9781250080929
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b24312745BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishSt. Martin's Press, 2016.294 pages ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT11983110eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishMacmillan Audio, 2016.1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 20 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24312745.i74502505On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24312745.i74502517On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT11983110Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetBrothers and sisters -- Fiction
Choice (Psychology) -- Fiction
Loyalty -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Psychological fiction
San Francisco (Calif.) -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
title_displayThe outside lands
title_fullThe outside lands / Hannah Kohler
The outside lands : a novel [electronic resource] / Hannah Kohler
title_shortThe outside lands
title_suba novel
topic_facetBrothers and sisters
Choice (Psychology)
Loyalty
Secrecy