Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The outside lands
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2016.
Physical Desc:
294 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Central
FICTION Kohler, H.
North Natomas
FICTION Kohler, H.
Description

"San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut. "--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Kohler, H.
On Shelf
North Natomas
FICTION Kohler, H.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250080929

Notes

Description
"San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut. "--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kohler, H. (2016). The outside lands. First edition. New York: St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kohler, Hannah. 2016. The Outside Lands. New York: St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kohler, Hannah, The Outside Lands. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kohler, Hannah. The Outside Lands. First edition. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
74280fbb-3286-bc54-4b42-7060a44dffcc
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 29, 2020 04:57:41 PM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 10:52:31 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 03, 2020 02:28:46 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02491pam a2200409 i 4500
001  2016003178
003DLC
00520160811114657.0
008160321s2016    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016003178
020 |a 9781250080929
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT|d NvReBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR6111.O45|b O88 2016
08200|a 823/.92|2 23
1001 |a Kohler, Hannah,|e author.
24514|a The outside lands /|c Hannah Kohler.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b St. Martin's Press,|c 2016.
300 |a 294 pages ;|c 24 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "San Francisco, 1968: Jeannie and Kip are lost and half-orphaned, their mother dead under mysterious circumstances, and their father - a decorated WWII veteran - consumed by guilt and losing sight of his teenage children. Kip, a dreamer and swaggerer prone to small-time trouble, enlists to fight in Vietnam; Jeannie finds a seemingly safe haven in early marriage and motherhood. But when Kip is accused of a terrible military crime, Jeannie is seduced - sexually, emotionally, politically - into joining an ambiguous anti-war organization. As Jeannie attempts to save her brother, her search for the truth leads her into two dangerous relationships, with a troubled young woman, and a grievously-wounded veteran, that might threaten her marriage, her child, and perhaps her life. An emotionally wrenching and morally complex novel in the vein of Tatjana Soli's The Lotus Eaters and Rachel Kushner's The Flamethrowers, The Outside Lands is a powerful, confident debut. "--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Brothers and sisters|v Fiction.
650 0|a Loyalty|v Fiction.
650 0|a Secrecy|v Fiction.
650 0|a Choice (Psychology)|v Fiction.
651 0|a San Francisco (Calif.)|v Fiction.
655 7|a Psychological fiction.|2 lcgft.
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd.
907 |a .b24312745|b 12-14-19|c 07-18-16
998 |a cen|a nnt|b 08-24-16|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 5
932 |a FICTION Kohler, H.
945 |d  - - |e 09-26-2019 11:48|3 0|g 0|h 10-01-19|i 33029101887644|j 3|k  - - |l cenag|o -|p $25.99|q  |r 2|s - |t 0|u 5|v 3|w 0|x 1|0 239|1 39|y .i74502505|z 08-24-16
945 |d  - - |e 01-21-2020 16:54|3 0|g 0|h 02-11-20|i 33029101887651|j 3|k  - - |l nntag|o -|p $25.99|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 4|v 0|w 0|x 1|0 284|1 384|y .i74502517|z 08-24-16