We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The night garden: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet at its center lies something remarkable: a wild maze of colorful gardens that reaches beyond the imagination. Local legend says that a visitor can gain answers to life's most difficult problems simply by walking through its lush corridors. Yet the labyrinth has never helped Olivia Pennywort, the garden's beautiful and enigmatic caretaker. She has spent her entire life on her family's land, harboring a secret that forces her to keep everyone at arm's length. But when her childhood best friend, Sam Van Winkle, returns to the valley, Olivia begins to question her safe, isolated world and wonders if she at last has the courage to let someone in. As she and Sam reconnect, Olivia faces a difficult question: Is the garden maze that she has nurtured all of her life a safe haven or a prison? Praise for Lisa Van Allen's The Wishing Thread "Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You're going to love this book."--Debbie Macomber "Whimsical. great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman."--Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780345537836
9780345537577
9781494520823
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5e2ddc7f-0d6b-23e0-3c37-76d6692990d9
Grouping Titlenight garden
Grouping Authorlisa van allen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-03-04 02:10:19AM
Last Indexed2024-03-04 02:23:07AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Rubinate, Amy
author
Van Allen, Lisa
author2-role
Rubinate, Amy,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Van Allen, Lisa
available_at_catalog
Central
North Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
display_description
"For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet at its center lies something remarkable: a wild maze of colorful gardens that reaches beyond the imagination. Local legend says that a visitor can gain answers to life's most difficult problems simply by walking through its lush corridors. Yet the labyrinth has never helped Olivia Pennywort, the garden's beautiful and enigmatic caretaker. She has spent her entire life on her family's land, harboring a secret that forces her to keep everyone at arm's length. But when her childhood best friend, Sam Van Winkle, returns to the valley, Olivia begins to question her safe, isolated world and wonders if she at last has the courage to let someone in. As she and Sam reconnect, Olivia faces a difficult question: Is the garden maze that she has nurtured all of her life a safe haven or a prison? Praise for Lisa Van Allen's The Wishing Thread "Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You're going to love this book."--Debbie Macomber "Whimsical. great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman."--Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
5e2ddc7f-0d6b-23e0-3c37-76d6692990d9
isbn
9780345537577
9780345537836
9781494520823
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-03-04T10:23:07.884Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Van Allen, L.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
North Natomas
primary_isbn
9780345537836
publishDate
2014
publisher
Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks
Random House Publishing Group
Tantor Media, Inc
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Gardens -- Fiction
Love stories
Romance fiction
Women -- Fiction
title_display
The night garden : a novel
title_full
The Night Garden : a novel [electronic resource] / Lisa Van Allen
The Night Garden A Novel
The night garden : a novel / Lisa Van Allen
title_short
The night garden
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Fiction
Gardens
Literature
Romance
Women

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11195351Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11195351?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:02a48b43-f4a6-43d1-bde1-22ac483110e0-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b23023867.i70681442North NatomasFICTION Van Allen, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b23023867.i70681417CentralFICTION Van Allen, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11195351eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20141 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 01 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:02a48b43-f4a6-43d1-bde1-22ac483110e0eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
ils:.b23023867BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books Trade Paperbacks[2014]335 pages ; 21 cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11195351Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:02a48b43-f4a6-43d1-bde1-22ac483110e0-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23023867.i70681442On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b23023867.i70681417On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011