Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The scent of secrets: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by hisrequest: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780553393903
9780553393910
9781490684802
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID40941877-a965-0050-cbea-8c42b0b8a167
Grouping Titlescent of secrets
Grouping Authorjane thynne
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-05-14 02:28:05AM
Last Indexed2021-05-14 03:02:06AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553393903

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Teal, Julie.
authorJane Thynne
author2-roleTeal, Julie.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayThynne, Jane
available_at_catalogArden-Dimick
detailed_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Galt
display_description"Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by hisrequest: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id40941877-a965-0050-cbea-8c42b0b8a167
isbn9780553393903
9780553393910
9781490684802
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:fd6dadde-a780-4faa-a863-c58558def90b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
hoopla:MWT13523676Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13523676?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b23777564.i72611224GaltFICTION Thynne, J.1falsefalseDue May 25, 2021galag
ils:.b23777564.i72611182Arden-DimickFICTION Thynne, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-05-14T10:02:06.248Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Thynne, J.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Galt
primary_isbn9780553393903
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:fd6dadde-a780-4faa-a863-c58558def90beBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
hoopla:MWT13523676eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, Inc., 2015.1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 40 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b23777564BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books, [2015]xviii, 422 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:fd6dadde-a780-4faa-a863-c58558def90b-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT13523676Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23777564.i72611224Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23777564.i72611182On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
seriesClara Vine novels
series_with_volumeClara Vine novels|3
subject_facetActresses -- Fiction
Espionage -- Great Britain -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Germany -- History -- 1933-1945 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Intelligence officers -- Great Britain -- Fiction
Spy stories
title_displayThe scent of secrets : a novel
title_fullThe Scent of Secrets A Novel
The scent of secrets : a novel / Jane Thynne
The scent of secrets [electronic resource] / Jane Thynne
title_shortThe scent of secrets
title_suba novel
topic_facetActresses
Espionage
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Historical fiction
History
Intelligence officers
Literature
Mystery
Spy stories