We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The scent of secrets: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
New York : Ballantine Books, [2015].
Physical Desc:
xviii, 422 pages ; 21 cm.
Status:
Arden-Dimick
FICTION Thynne, J.
Carmichael
FICTION Thynne, J.
Description

"Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by hisrequest: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Arden-Dimick
FICTION Thynne, J.
On Shelf
Carmichael
FICTION Thynne, J.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780553393903, 0553393901

Notes

General Note
Includes a reader's guide.
General Note
Includes excerpt from "The pursuit of pearls"
Description
"Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by hisrequest: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Thynne, J. (2015). The scent of secrets: a novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Thynne, Jane. 2015. The Scent of Secrets: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Thynne, Jane, The Scent of Secrets: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Thynne, Jane. The Scent of Secrets: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2015. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
40941877-a965-0050-cbea-8c42b0b8a167
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJun 30, 2022 06:10:14 PM
Last File Modification TimeJul 01, 2022 03:20:24 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 04, 2022 02:08:30 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03092nam a22004218i 4500
001sky274321255
003SKY
00520150916082201.0
008150327s2015    nyu    e      000 1 eng d
010 |a 2015011131
020 |a 9780553393903
020 |a 0553393901
040 |a MvI|b eng|e rda|c MvI|d SKYRV
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR6070.H96
08200|a 823/.914
1001 |a Thynne, Jane.
24514|a The scent of secrets :|b a novel /|c Jane Thynne.
264 1|a New York :|b Ballantine Books,|c [2015]
264 4|c ©2015.
300 |a xviii, 422 pages ;|c 21 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
500 |a Includes a reader's guide.
500 |a Includes excerpt from "The pursuit of pearls"
520 |a "Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by hisrequest: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Actresses|v Fiction.
650 0|a Intelligence officers|z Great Britain|v Fiction.
650 0|a Espionage|z Great Britain|x History|y 20th century|v Fiction.
651 0|a Germany|x History|y 1933-1945|v Fiction.
650 0|a Historical fiction.
650 0|a Spy stories.
907 |a .b23777564|b 09-04-21|c 08-31-15
998 |a ard|a car|b 09-25-15|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 3
932 |a FICTION Thynne, J.
945 |d  - - |e 04-16-2021 12:51|3 0|g 0|h 04-29-21|i 33029100328590|j 3|k  - - |l ardag|o -|p $16.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 11|v 9|w 0|x 0|0 4|1 4|y .i72611182|z 09-25-15
945 |d  - - |e 07-15-2021 11:53|3 0|g 0|h 09-03-21|i 33029100328624|j 3|k  - - |l carag|o -|p $16.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 11|v 12|w 0|x 1|0 200|1 13|y .i72611224|z 09-25-15